TravelPOI

Things to do in County Donegal

Explore places, reviews and hidden gems in County Donegal on TravelPOI.

Top places
Showing up to 15 places from this collection.
Carrickabraghy Castle
County Donegal • F93 FY9D • Historic Places
Carrickabraghy Castle is a ruined late medieval tower house on the Isle of Doagh peninsula in Inishowen, County Donegal, associated with the MacLochlainn family, traditional lords of Inishowen who traced descent from the high kings of the northern O'Neill dynasty. The castle stands on a clifftop overlooking Pollan Bay and the Atlantic. The Inishowen Peninsula contains a wealth of heritage including the Iron Age Grianan of Aileach hillfort, early Christian sites associated with Saint Colmcille and numerous medieval remains. The peninsula's combination of remote beauty and historical depth makes it one of the most rewarding destinations in Donegal.
Doe Castle
County Donegal • F92 W803 • Historic Places
Doe Castle is located on a rock about 1 mile from the Carrigart to Creeslough road. The castle is on an inlet of Sheephaven Bay protected by sea on three sides, and by a moat cut into the rock on the landward side. Doe Castle is a a fairly well preserved ruin. This impressive fortified castle has a central tower, battlements and a defensive wall enclosing a courtyard. The central tower is reminiscent of a Scottish tower house, and is 50 feet high, with a large room on each of the four levels. The tower walls are about 8 feet thick. There is a dungeon on the third level with a single narrow window in the stone wall, and a single 4 foot high doorway with a pointed arch. The dungeon doorway opens into a winding stairway inside the castle wall to the fourth floor above. The great hall is about 35 feet long by 18 feet wide. There is a well shaft in the south west of the castle courtyard that has dried up. Doe Castle was built in the 16th century and was a stronghold of Clan Suibhne (MacSweeney). Owen Roe O'Neill led the Irish Confederates from Doe Castle in 1642 in the Wars of the three kingdoms. During the 17th century, the castle changed hands a number of times, and was taken by the English hands. General George Vaughan Harte repaired the castle at the end of the 18th century and made his home there until 1864. The generals initials can still be seen over the door. The last occupant was a Church of Ireland minister, and after his departure the castle fell into disrepair. In 1922, Stewart-bam of Ards, sold the castle to the Irish Land Commission. The castle is now a National Monument. The Arts Irish singer Brian McFadden proposed to Kerry Katona (now his ex-wife) at Doe Castle in 2001. This was where his grandfather proposed to his grandmother.
Donegal Castle
County Donegal • F94 AKC2 • Historic Places
Donegal Castle is situated in the North West of Ireland. It dominates the centre of the town and sits on a rocky outcrop on the bend of the River Eske near the mouth of Donegal Bay. For the past two centuries most of Donegal Castle lay in ruins but in the late 1990's the tower house was totally restored leaving the remaining wings as ruins. A boundary wall with a small gatehouse built in the 17th century surrounds the limestone and sandstone castle, the 15th century rectangular keep and a later Jacobean style wing. Facilities Guided tours take you around the rooms inside the castle. The tours show the different styles and periods of its previous owners including Persian rugs and French tapestries. The remainder of the castle can be seen without a guide. The castle is open to the public throughout the year. During Spring/Summer opening hours are 10:00 - 18:00 daily and during the Autumn/Winter between 09:30 - 16:30 The castle was built as a stronghold by Sir Hugh O'Donnell in 1474 for the O'Donnell clan who were one of the most powerful families in Ireland from the 5th to the 16th centuries and loyal subject of Queen Elizabeth I until the Nine Years War. The O'Donnells left Ireland in 1607 to in the 'Flight of the Earls', but before they left they tried to destroy the castle to prevent it being used by the English against other Gaelic clans. Captain Basil Brooke was granted the castle and its land in 1611 and quickly restored and improved it. He made additions in a Jacobean style adding a large manor house wing in the keep, a gable, additional windows and a fortified tower. The castle stayed in the Brooke family for generations until it fell into disrepair in the 18th century after Cromwell's invasion. In 1898 the castle was handed over to the Office of Private Works by its owner the Earl of Arran. The Arts The castle hosts events including Gaelic cultural evenings.
Glenveagh Castle
County Donegal • Historic Places
Glenveagh Castle is located 15 miles north west of Letterkenny in the Glenveagh National Park. The park covers 16,000 acres in the Derryveach mountain range on the shores of Lough Veagh. The castle site consists of a 19th Century Scottish baronial mansion house built of granite with a four storey keep. It is surrounded by gardens which reach out to the wooded hillside beyond with its own herd of red deer. Facilities There are two main attractions for visitors to Glenveagh Castle. The first being the way in which the castle is furnished. The last owner Henry McIlhenny was the Curator of Decorative Arts at the Philadelphia Museum. He furnished each of the rooms with very different characters, some in the period of the castle, others from different periods. The second attraction are the gardens. The gardens were also designed by Henry McIlhenny and developed from 1937 until 1983. The gardens hold a collection of plants from all over the world which were planted under the advice of leading landscape artists James Russell and Lanning Roper. There is an 18 stop garden tour showing some of the most beautiful parts. The gardens are especially spectacular for the rhododendrons in May and June and the walled garden in August. The rooms of the castle can be visited with a guide between Mid March and Early November, 10am to 6pm. The castle also has its own tearooms. The first part of Glenveagh Castle was built in 1867 with additions being made until 1885 by Captain John Adair. He was married in 1869 and along with his wife tried to create a castle and gardens to better those belonging to Queen Victoria at Balmoral Castle. During that time Adair was also responsible for evicting 224 tenants from his land, a job which involved 200 police officers, the local magistrate and the sub sheriff. Many of those evicted went to the work house in Letterkenny and some were helped to emigrate to Australia by the Donegal Relief Fund and were settled in Sydney. Henry Plumer McIlhenny from Philadelphia purchased the estate in 1937 and had plenty of interesting guests amongst them Greta Garbo and Marilyn Monroe. He finally left the castle and gardens to the nation in 1981 and now it is in the care of the Office of Public Works.
Glenveagh National Park Donegal
County Donegal • F93 X8H3 • Scenic Point
Glenveagh National Park covers more than 16,000 hectares of wild mountains, blanket bogs, rivers and woodland in the heart of County Donegal, making it Ireland's second largest national park. The park takes its name from the Irish Gleann Bheatha, meaning Glen of the Birches, and the landscape lives up to that wild poetry at every turn. Its remote location within the Derryveagh Mountains, combined with Donegal's famously dramatic weather, creates a Highland atmosphere that feels genuinely untouched by the modern world. The parkland includes the two highest peaks in Donegal, Errigal and Slieve Snacht, as well as the dramatically named Poisoned Glen, a glacially carved valley shadowed by quartzite cliffs. Glaciation shaped almost every feature of this landscape over thousands of years, and the resulting terrain of steep glens, lakeshore cliffs and exposed moorland remains one of the most rewarding mountain environments in the country for serious hillwalkers. At the heart of the park stands Glenveagh Castle, a castellated granite mansion built between 1867 and 1873 by Captain John George Adair in the style of a Scottish Baronial highland retreat. Adair's story is one of the more troubling in the history of the park. In 1861 he evicted 244 tenants from their smallholdings on his land during what became known as the Derryveagh Evictions, clearing the hillsides to improve the view from his new estate. The castle passed through several hands and was eventually donated to the Irish state in 1979 by American owner Henry McIlhenny, who had used it as a glamorous retreat and reportedly hosted guests including Marilyn Monroe, Charlie Chaplin and Greta Garbo. Today, self-guided tours of the castle allow visitors to see its luxuriously furnished rooms and learn about this complex history. The gardens surrounding the castle were originally developed by Cornelia Adair, John's widow, and later refined by McIlhenny into one of Ireland's most remarkable horticultural collections. Exotic plants from around the world thrive in the shelter of the valley, contrasting dramatically with the rugged moorland beyond the garden walls. The walled garden, the Italian terrace garden and the Belgian walk all provide seasonal highlights throughout the year. Wildlife is one of Glenveagh's greatest draws. The park is home to Ireland's largest herd of red deer, which can sometimes be spotted grazing in open clearings particularly during the autumn rutting season. Golden eagles were successfully reintroduced to the park beginning in 2000, reversing a local extinction that had lasted nearly a century. Patient birdwatchers may also spot peregrine falcons, red-throated divers and a range of moorland species. The park's visitor centre near the main car park contains free exhibitions about the park's history, wildlife and conservation programmes. A shuttle bus service runs between the visitor centre and the castle, or visitors can walk the scenic 3.5-kilometre lakeshore trail along Lough Veagh, one of the most beautiful walks in Ireland. The park is open year-round with free access to the grounds; castle tours carry a modest admission fee.
Greencastle
County Donegal • BT34 4LR • Historic Places
Greencastle at the entrance to Carlingford Lough in County Down, Northern Ireland, is a thirteenth-century royal castle built by Hugh de Lacy in 1261 to control the entrance to Carlingford Lough and the trade routes between Ireland and England. The castle faces its counterpart Carlingford Castle in County Louth across the narrow lough, forming a pair of castles controlling this strategically important sea inlet. The substantial remains of the great tower and gatehouse are in the care of the Historic Environment Division and are freely accessible. The position at the mouth of the lough with views toward the Cooley Mountains in the Republic of Ireland and the Mountains of Mourne behind provides one of the most scenic settings of any castle in County Down.
Grianan of Aileach
County Donegal • Historic Places
Grianan of Aileach is situated on a hill top near the town of Burt, some 11km west of Derry in County Donegal overlooking Lough Foyle and Lough Swilly. Grianan of Aileach is a stone ring fort surrounded by earthworks on the top of Greenan Mountain, some 244 metres high. The fort has an internal diameter of 23.4m, and has a massive stone wall almost 4m thick. There are several stairways giving access to the top of the walls. Within the walls are a number of small chambers. The Grianan of Aileach is also known by its Irish name of Grianan Ailigh, and the name is roughly translated as "Stone Fortes (or Temple) of the Sun" . The fort was restored in the 19th century, but much of the original drystone masonry structure remains intact at ground level. The restoration team used fallen stones to build on the original foundation, but had to bring in other stone from the area to replace missing stones. The main entrance one the east is 1.12m wide by 1.86m high with a lintel overhead and a depth of 4.65m long. The original gateway did not have a lintel. The inside has three terraces with stairways leading from one level to the next. There are two wall passages, with one on the south side and the other on the north east. These passages run towards the gateway but do not connect with it, so their original purpose is unclear. The passages are roughly 0.5m wide with height ranging from 60cm to 1.4m high, and the longest one is over 20m long. Most of the ramparts have been eroded by time. There used to be a set of inner and outer ramparts with the outer ramparts enclosing an area of about 5 acres. Facilities The fort is open to the public, with a self-guide leaflet available for visitors. The Grianan of Aileach is an Iron Age stone fortress and is believed to have been the seat of the Kingdom of Aileach. It was a political and cultural centre during the time of the early Irish chieftains from approximately 800BC to 1200AD. After the Norman invasion, the Kingdom of Aileach gradually lost control of the territory, and the fort was destroyed by Muirchertach Ua Briain, the King of Munster in 1101. By the end of the 12th century, the Normans controlled most of the lands of Aileach. The fortress fell into ruin over the centuries. George Petrie surveyed the fort in the 1830s, when it was still a ruin, and at that time most of the wall remaining was less than 1.5m tall. It was rebuilt between 1874 and 1878, and the walls and main stone features have been restored. The restoration was intended to preserve the historic authenticity of the structure. The restoration work was directed by Dr. Walter Bernard. The site is now owned by the Irish government. Further restoration was undertaken by the Office of Public Works in 2001 after part of the wall collapsed. The restored areas can easily be seen, being of different colour and pattern to the original walls. Some parts of the upper walls have been cemented in place for safety. An iron gate was set into the entrance way.
Lough Eske Castle
County Donegal • F94 HX59 • Historic Places
Lough Eske Castle estate is set on the shores of Lough Eske at the base of the Bluestack Mountains in south west Donegal. It is 31 miles from Donegal in the North West of the country. The Elizabethan sandstone castle sits in sweeping gardens; containing old and modern statues, and then continues out into wooded estate of ancient trees covering over 43 acres. Built over three floors, Lough Eske Castle has a castellated tower and entrance with outbuildings to the rear. Facilities The castle has been fully restored and is now the only 5 star hotel and spa in Donegal. The hotel has 96 individually commissioned bedrooms and suites, with works of art and fine furniture; some rooms including four poster beds. The guest rooms are located in the main castle, garden wing and the converted stables. The castle suites even have a private access to the tower. The Cedars restaurant serves contemporary, seasonal, locally inspired food. The spa is located on the site of the original glass house with treatment rooms, pool, steam rooms and sauna. The fitness suite offers guests state of the art gym equipment and personal trainers to give advice. The hotel offers wedding packages and can cater for up to 220 guests in the large ballroom. Packages can include a spa day for the bride and her bridesmaids, whilst the groom's party has the option of golf and fishing on the nearby lake. The first castle on the site was built around 1474. Scottish settlers were responsible for the first manor house constructed at the side of the Lough in 1621. During the early 19th century the manor was owned by the Brooke family and an architect employed to completely redesign the property, work was completed in 1868 and was then known as Lough Eske Castle. At the end of the century the castle was sold and became a guest house and by the mid 20th century was in ruins but in 2007 was renovated and opened as a hotel.
Malin Head Donegal
County Donegal • C55 XX73 • Scenic Point
Malin Head is the most northerly point of the Irish mainland, a dramatic cliff-edged promontory of Donegal quartzite at the tip of the Inishowen Peninsula whose combination of the geographical extremity, the extraordinary Atlantic scenery and the views of four countries simultaneously visible on clear days — Scotland, England, Ireland and the Isle of Man — creates one of the most compelling journey-end destinations on the Wild Atlantic Way. The signal tower at Malin Head, built during the Napoleonic Wars, was subsequently used as a Lloyds signal station and then as a meteorological observation post. The Met Éireann weather station here is part of the international weather reporting network, and the daily shipping forecast that includes Malin in its list of sea areas is one of the most familiar references to this remote headland in the wider world. The views across the sea to the Scottish islands, particularly Islay and the distinctive profile of the Paps of Jura on clear days, demonstrate the closeness of the cultural and geographical relationship between the northwest of Ireland and the southwest of Scotland that has shaped both coastlines throughout recorded history.
Northburgh Castle
County Donegal • Historic Places
Northburgh Castle is set on a rocky platform near the mouth of Lough Foyle and the village of Greencastle overlooking Magilligan Strand. It is 25 miles north of Londonderry on the northern tip of Ireland. The original castle was considered particularly great due to its scale, intricate towers and gatehouse. Unfortunately the sandstone castle was very badly damaged by cannon fire and very little remains of the original building apart from parts of the curtain wall and the remains of a small Norman church. One of the best views to really appreciate what the castle was like is that from the shore of the Lough. Facilities Northburgh Castle is open 10am until 6pm in July and August when guided tours are also available but closed on Mondays and Fridays. Northburgh Castle is the Anglo-Norman name for the castle which is also called Greencastle, built in 1305 by Richard de Burgo or the Red Earl of Ulster as he was known. The site was chosen so as to have control over Lough Foyle and in particular to control the O'Neill and O'Donnell clans. Robert Bruce captured the castle in 1316 on behalf of the Scots only to lose it again. In 1328 the Earl's grandson William had the title of Earl and immediately arranged for Walter de Burgh of Connacht; his distant cousin, to be arrested and brought to Northburgh where he slowly starved him the death. During this time William's sister was also found dead on the rocky shore underneath the battlements and it is believed that she was fell to her death; either by accident or not, after trying to bring food to Walter. William was subsequently murdered by Walter's family in 1333. His death brought an end to the de Burgo's in Ireland as the remaining family was forced to flee to England. After their departure the castle was controlled by the dependents of the O'Donnell clan, the O'Doherty family. During conflicts with the Scots and within the family itself the castle was suffered considerable damage by cannon fire and eventually was left in ruins after the small garrison left the castle at the beginning of the 17th century.
Raphoe Castle
County Donegal • F93 PN2C • Historic Places
Raphoe Castle is a ruined seventeenth-century bishop's palace in the town of Raphoe in County Donegal, built around 1636 by Bishop John Leslie as the fortified residence of the Church of Ireland Bishop of Raphoe. The building reflects the turbulent conditions of early seventeenth-century Ulster following the plantation of the province, where Protestant officials required defensible residences in a region resentful of new colonial authority. The castle fell into ruin following the disestablishment of the Church of Ireland in 1869. The town of Raphoe is an ancient ecclesiastical centre with the ruins of its medieval cathedral still standing, and the wider east Donegal landscape contains the spectacular Grianan of Aileach Iron Age hillfort overlooking Lough Swilly.
Slieve League Cliffs
County Donegal • F94 Y2W9 • Scenic Point
The Slieve League cliffs on the south Donegal coast of Ireland are among the highest sea cliffs in Europe, a great wall of quartzite and sandstone rising nearly 600 metres from the Atlantic Ocean in a cliff face of extraordinary scale and drama that dwarfs the more famous Cliffs of Moher and provides one of the most awe-inspiring natural spectacles on the Irish coast. The cliffs are accessible from the car park at Bunglass on the Slieve League peninsula and a dramatic coastal walk along the ridge above the cliff edge provides progressively expanding views of the full extent of the cliffs. The One Man's Pass, a narrow ridge with steep drops on both sides between Bunglass and the main summit of Slieve League, provides the most direct approach to the full height of the cliff face, its name reflecting the width at the narrowest section where two people cannot pass side by side. The exposure on both sides of this ridge, with the cliff edge to the south and steep ground to the north, gives it a genuinely vertiginous character that requires head for heights and appropriate footwear. Those who complete the crossing are rewarded with the finest possible perspective on the cliff face and the Atlantic below. The Donegal landscape surrounding Slieve League is one of the most unspoiled in Ireland, the combination of the mountain peninsula, the small fishing harbours of the south Donegal coast and the wild Atlantic Drive that traverses this section of the county creating a scenic touring experience of considerable quality. The evening light on the cliff face, particularly in the long summer evenings of northwest Ireland when the sun sets over the Atlantic horizon, creates a colour display on the quartzite rock that rewards any delay in returning to the car park.
Wardtown Castle
County Donegal • F94 YD46 • Historic Places
Wardtown Castle is a ruined tower house in County Donegal near the River Erne estuary, in a part of the county contested between the O'Donnell lords of Tír Chonaill and various lesser families occupying the lowland approaches to their mountain stronghold. The O'Donnell lordship was one of the most powerful Gaelic dynasties in Ulster throughout the later medieval period, and their numerous tower houses and fortified sites throughout Donegal reflect both the wealth generated by cattle herds and fishing resources and the persistent conditions of military competition. County Donegal is renowned for its dramatic and varied landscape from the Atlantic peninsulas to the mountain wilderness of the Derryveagh range.
Back to interactive map