TravelPOI

Things to do in County Dublin

Explore places, reviews and hidden gems in County Dublin on TravelPOI.

Top places
Showing up to 15 places from this collection.
Aras an Uachtarain
County Dublin • Historic Places
Aras an Uachtarain (previously known as the Viceregal Lodge) is situated in Phoenix Park on the north side of Dublin. Aras an Uachtarain is Irish for 'house of the president' and is the official residence of the President of Ireland. The house was originally a fairly plain brick structure, but has been improved and added to over the years to the elegant white Palladian building you see today. The East Wing was added in 1849 for a visit of Queen Victoria. The Entrance Hall dates from 1751and features a magnificent barrel-vaulted ceiling with plaster busts in the ceiling coffers. The State Reception Room (formerly the ballroom) features a plaster cast of a Lafranchini panel in the ceiling. The Francini Corridor leads from the Entrance Hall past the State Reception Room. One side of the corridor is lined with bronze busts of Irish Presidents mounted on marble columns and the other side features stucco panels showing classical figures. The formal gardens wee established by Decimus Burton in the 1840s. Facilities Aras an Uachtarain is open for public tours on Saturdays only. Admission is free and admission tickets are available from the Phoenix Park Visitor Centre at Ashtown Castle. You need to book on the day of your visit, as there are no advance bookings or group bookings available. The building is closed from 24th to 26th December. Guided tours are held from 10:15am to 3:30pm. Tours of the gardens are conducted, weather permitting, between June and September. Aras an Uachtarain was designed by architect Nathaniel Clements, with construction starting in the 18th century. The administration of the British Lord Lieutenant bought the house and it was used as his summer residence in the 1780s, and later became the Viceregal Lodge. The office of Lord Lieutenant was abolished in 1922 when the Irish Free State came into being. From 1922 until 1932 it was the residence of the Governor-General of the Irish Free State. In 1937 when the office of President of Ireland was established, the house became the house of the president.
Ardgillan Castle
County Dublin • K34 C984 • Historic Places
Ardgillan Castle is set between Skerries and Balbriggan, 20 miles north of Dublin, high on a cliff top overlooking Barnageera Beach and the Irish Sea. The restored Ardgillan Castle is better described as a large castellated country style house, set in the 200 acre Ardgillan Demense park with open spaces and woodland. The central section of the castle was built in 1738 and the wings added in the late 1700's. The grey stone castle is built over three stories; one being a basement, with lawns extending to the south. The grounds have a Rose garden as well as a walled herb garden and an ice house. Facilities There are guided tours of the ground floor rooms and kitchens, as with many big houses the basement area was used for the kitchen and store rooms with the main living accommodation occupying the other rooms. The former bedrooms are used an exhibition space for the 'Down Survey' maps and text. Ardgillan Castle has its own tearoom and is open year round (except the Christmas Holidays) Tuesday - Sunday 11:00 - 18:00, April to September and until 16:30 from October to March. During July and August the castle is open seven days a week when guided tours of the gardens are also available on Thursday afternoons. The 'Down Survey' (a census involving the mapping 'down' of land ownership in Ireland) records that Ardgillan was owned by a wine merchant from Dublin, Robert Usher in 1658. In 1737 the Reverend Robert Taylor re-built the castle and it remained in the family until 1962 when a German, Heinrick Potts bought the estate. In 1982 Dublin County Council purchased the castle and estate and today it is managed by Fingal Council. The Arts The castle has been used as the setting for summer concerts by artists such as Status Quo, Meatloaf, REM and Moby. Legends A ghost is said to haunt the bridge at the end of the garden where a woman died waiting for her husband to return from swimming in the sea on night. The tale also claims if you visit the bridge at midnight on Halloween her ghost throws you into the Irish sea to your death.
Ashtown Castle
County Dublin • D07 V663 • Historic Places
Ashtown Castle is found in Phoenix Park in the north west of Dublin. Ashtown Castle is a fully restored fortified Medieval four-storey tower house thought to have been constructed in the 17th century. Restoration and survey work carried out in 1989 revealed alterations made in the 18th and 19th centuries which included Georgian windows, new flooring and work to part of the roof. Facilities The Castle is incorporated into the Phoenix Park and the visitor centre has detailed information not only about the castle but the surrounding deer park and gardens. From here you can arrange a guided visit of the castle and although the castle does not have its own tearoom or restaurant, one can be found in the grounds of the visitor centre. Entry is free and the castle and grounds are open November to March, Wednesday - Sunday, 09:30 to 17:30 and April to October, Daily 10:00 to 17:45. Ashtown Castle was not 'discovered' until 1978 when it was found within the walls of a much larger more recent building that was being demolished. In 1641 the castle was owned by John Connell or 'John of Ashtown' as he was known. The estate was then 200 acres laid down to arable and pasture land with a small area of woodland, there was also a small orchard and two thatched cottages on the estate. The castle was built to dimensions laid down by the government of the time where money was offered to those who built a castle to defend themselves. In 1668 Marcus Trevor, Viscount Dungannon along with two keepers were the residents of Ashford. The castle had been acquired by the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland on behalf of the King to extend his deer park. Around 1774 Ashtown Lodge was incorporated into the castle and the new building was then classified as the official residence of the Under Secretary from 1782. A series of tunnels is believed to have run from the lodge to other important buildings within the park where people could travel unseen and safely. The next resident was Papal Nuncio who resided in the lodge until 1978 when he left for a new residence in Dublin. The Arts Ashtown has been used a backdrop for some very famous artists such as Coldplay, Robbie Williams and U2.
Bremore Castle
County Dublin • K32 TR50 • Historic Places
Bremore Castle is located north of the town of Balbriggan. The castle was originally a large tower house, but is now in ruins. Fingal County Council, in conjunction with Balbriggan & District Historical Society, is restoring the castle based on how the castle appears in antiquarian drawings. Bremore Castle was built around the 16th century, and was the home of the Barnewall family. By the 20th century, the castle had fallen into disrepair and the upper storeys had collapsed leaving a single-storey ruin.
Clontarf Castle
County Dublin • D03 W5N0 • Historic Places
Clontarf Castle is situated 2 miles north of Dublin in the suburbs of the city. The 1830's building is a mixture of old castle and modern building rolled into one. Built of grey stone and glass with a crenellated tower and the addition of large wings. Most of the estate and its buildings have been sold, but the castle still has the ornamental gatehouse. Facilities Clontarf Castle is now privately owned and is part of a collection of luxury boutique hotels. The 111 bedrooms are equipped with modern comforts and even more luxurious are executive rooms with four poster beds. The hotel has three restaurants and bars in traditional castle style surroundings. The hotel can host civil wedding ceremonies as well as providing facilities for after wedding receptions. The current castle dates back to 1837, but there was a previous castle on the site in 1172. Built by Hugh de Lacy it was home to the Knights Templar; famous for fighting in the Crusades. The castle passed to the Knights Hospitaller in 1308 and then to Viscount Clontarf; who in turn surrendered the castle to the King. The secretary of state for Ireland; Sir Geoffrey Fenton, was granted the estate in 1600 by Queen Elizabeth I. Through his descendents the castle passed into the King family from whom the lands were confiscated during the Irish Rebellion in 1641. The castle then changed hands several times after Cromwells conquest of Ireland, with the Vernon family being the longest inhabitants for over 300 years. In 1933 the castle was sold by the last remaining member of the Vernon family to the Oultons and was sold again in 1952 to pay death duties. In 1972 the castle was run as a cabaret venue for 25 years until it reopened in 1991 as a four star hotel. The Arts The castle has been host to many famous people especially musicians. Handel in 1742 as a guest of Dorothy Vernon and for whom he wrote 'Forest Music'. In 1971 the castle was also the subject of a song by Thin Lizzy entitled 'The Friendly Ranger at Clontarf Castle' and Dermot O'Brien; a famous accordionist, used the castle for live recordings. The castle was also the subject of a painting by Turner, although wrongly labeled Caltarf Castle. Dana was crowned Queen of Cabaret at Clontarf Castle in 1968 before winning the Eurovision Song Contest in 1970.
Dublin Castle
County Dublin • D08 PFK4 • Historic Places
Dublin Castle is in the heart of the city set on a high ridge on the south side of the River Liffey. The Dublin Castle complex occupies a vast area and is totally restored. The buildings were all added at different times and range from Medieval to Georgian and from bare stone to fine plasterwork. Set around the gardens and courtyards are the State Apartments, Library, Norman Tower, Chapel Royal and Coach House. Behind are the Bedford Tower and Treasury Building, the oldest office block in Ireland. Facilities The main areas for tourists to visit are the State Apartments, Undercroft, Garda (police) Museum; famous because it is housed in the last intact medieval tower in Dublin and perhaps one of the most interesting parts of the castle the Revenue Museum, situated in the Crypt of the Chapel Royal. Entry to the grounds is free and there are also guided tours available Monday to Friday, 10:00 - 16:45, Weekends/Holidays 14:00 to 16:45. The Garda and Revenue museums are open Monday - Friday 10:00 - 16:00. The gift shop and restaurant are open daily. The first stone castle was completed by King John of England in 1230 on the site of the original Viking fortress. Originally built as a military fortress and prison it later held the Royal Treasury and Mint, Law Courts and was the home of the English Administration in Ireland for 700 years until the Great Hall was burnt down in the fire of April 1684. Only by blowing up nearby buildings were the flames stopped from reaching the gunpowder stored in the Powder Tower, unfortunately much of the medieval castle was destroyed. The castle was one of the main targets in the Easter Rising of 1916 which concluded in December 1921 with the signing of the Anglo-Irish treaty when Ireland became a free state and Dublin Castle was handed over to the Irish Government. The castle was re-built and added to in the 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th Centuries, it is now predominantly Georgian which includes the State apartments renovated in 1746 and are today used to host functions for European Union delegates. The Arts The castle has been used for films such as Becoming Jane and The Medallion as well as for the television series The Tudors.
Howth Castle
County Dublin • D13 DH52 • Historic Places
Howth Castle is set in floral gardens and grounds of over 250 acres near the village of Howth overlooking Dublin bay, 9 miles north of Dublin. Howth Castle is a series of irregular buildings, some castellated others not, with the appearance of having been added to in many different periods. In parts the castle is in good condition but some parts have been left and are in disrepair. The Martello Tower forms part of the collection of buildings, mainly from the 16th century. Within the grounds there are also a number of interesting features including a ruined square tower, Aideen's grave; a Neolithic tomb, the Deer Park hotel and golf course. Facilities The castle is the ancestral home of the Gaisford St. Lawrence family who are descendents of the Baron; later known as the Earls, of Howth and not open to the public. It is still possible to visit the grounds during the summer which are known for their beautiful collection of over 2,000 varieties of rhododendron. The grounds are also home to the National Transport Museum of Ireland and the fully restored Hill of Howth Tram along with tractors, trucks, fire engines and lorries can all be seen there. Howth Castle was built in 1464 and added to many times over history especially in the 16th and 18th centuries. Very little has been written about the castles history but one of the most notable events seems to be a visit from the Pirate Queen Grace O'Malley. During a trip to Dublin in 1576 she attempted to visit the 8th Baron Howth who was sitting down to dinner and therefore 'not available'. She was so angry that the gates were closed upon her that she chose to retaliate by abducting the young grandson of the Baron. He was finally released when a promise was made for the gates to always be open to unexpected visitors and for an extra place to be set at the table; a tradition which is said to still be honoured today. The Arts The book 'Finnegan's Wake' by James Boyce is based around Howth Castle and the surrounding area.
Howth Head
County Dublin • D13 X527 • Other
Howth Head is a dramatic rocky peninsula that juts into Dublin Bay just twelve kilometres northeast of the city centre, offering an extraordinary combination of clifftop walking, maritime history, wildlife watching and seafood eating within easy reach of the Irish capital. The headland rises to around 170 metres above sea level, and its clifftop paths provide sweeping views across Dublin Bay, south towards the Wicklow Mountains and north across the Irish Sea towards the Mountains of Mourne in Northern Ireland. The cliff walk around the headland is one of the most popular walks in the Dublin area, following paths that wind along the southern and eastern edges of the peninsula through gorse, heather and dramatic rock formations. The full circuit of the headland takes around three to four hours and passes through some genuinely wild and exposed coastal scenery. In late spring the gorse blazes yellow and the air carries a faint coconut scent that makes the headland feel almost tropical despite the Irish Sea wind. Seabirds including kittiwakes, fulmars and guillemots nest on the cliffs during the breeding season, and grey seals haul out on the rocks at the headland's tip. Howth village at the base of the headland has been a fishing port since medieval times and its small harbour remains genuinely active, with fishing boats landing catches each morning. The village has developed a strong reputation for seafood restaurants and fish stalls around the harbour, making lunch or dinner here an essential part of any visit. The Saturday farmers' market along the pier is a popular local institution for fresh produce and artisan foods. Ireland's Eye, a small uninhabited island visible just offshore, can be reached by ferry from Howth Harbour during the summer months and is worth the short crossing for its seabird colonies, dramatic rock arch and the ruined medieval church on the island. The island was the site of a notorious Victorian murder trial and retains an atmospheric, slightly eerie quality. Howth Castle, partially visible from the village though not generally open to the public, has been the home of the St Lawrence family for centuries and its walled gardens, including a rhododendron garden spectacular in May, can be visited during the flowering season. The ruined Corr Castle and the ancient dolmen known as the Cromlech of Howth are further reminders of the headland's long human history. Getting to Howth from Dublin city centre is straightforward by DART train, which runs frequently and drops visitors directly at the village harbour, making this one of the most accessible day trips the Irish capital offers.
Kilmainham Gaol
County Dublin • D08 RK28 • Other
Kilmainham Gaol in Dublin is one of the most significant and emotionally charged heritage sites in Ireland, a former prison that served for more than a century as the primary detention centre for those who challenged British rule in Ireland and is now one of the country's most visited museums. Walking through its cells and corridors is to move through the physical fabric of modern Irish history, from the United Irishmen's rebellion of 1798 to the execution of the leaders of the 1916 Easter Rising. The prison was built in 1796 and its architecture reflects the then-fashionable philosophy of prison reform: large, naturally lit wings designed to allow prisoners to contemplate their behaviour in relative isolation. The east wing, added in the 1860s, has a striking Victorian panopticon design with an iron-and-glass ceiling that floods the central space with light while allowing guards to observe every cell from a central position. The contrast between the forbidding exterior and the relative brightness of this interior always surprises first-time visitors. Among those imprisoned here were Robert Emmet, executed in 1803 after his failed rebellion; Charles Stewart Parnell, the great Home Rule leader, detained for his land reform agitation in 1881; and leaders of the 1916 Easter Rising, including Patrick Pearse, James Connolly and thirteen other signatories of the Proclamation of the Irish Republic, all of whom were executed by firing squad in the prison yard following the rising's suppression. James Connolly, wounded during the fighting, was brought to the yard in a chair because he was too injured to stand. The small stone yard where these executions took place is perhaps the most sobering space in Ireland. The prison also held figures from the later War of Independence and Civil War. Éamon de Valera, who would go on to dominate Irish political life for decades, was imprisoned here and was the last prisoner to leave before the jail was closed in 1924. The complex human stories of the people who passed through these walls are told in an excellent museum within the prison itself. Guided tours are the only way to visit, and booking in advance is strongly recommended as the tours are consistently popular. The guides bring genuine knowledge and passion to the history of the site and the individuals connected to it. The visit typically takes around an hour and is suitable for older children and adults.
Malahide Castle
County Dublin • K36 TH59 • Historic Places
RMalahide Castle is in the town of Robswall overlooking the Broadmeadow Water, also known as Malahide estuary and only a ten minute walk from the coast road footpath which links Portmarnock and Malahide. King Henry II gifted Richard Talbot the lands and harbour of Malahide for his services to the crown in 1185. From that point on, the Talbot family became intertwined with Malahide’s history and development. The earliest believed stone fortress at Malahide was an Anglo-Norman tower house. From the 12th century onwards, this stronghold was continually expanded by the Talbot family. Rooms were modified, fortifications developed and many embellishments to the interior were added until the castle took on its current form.Facilities Robswall Castle is a private dwelling and not open to the public. The original tower was constructed over four floors was thought to have been built in the 15th century by the de Bermingham family. The castle is recorded as being the home of the Cistercian Monks of St Mary's Abbey. The castle's position at the entrance to the harbor ensured that the Monks were never without fish as the local fishermen always gave a donation when coming back into port. When the monasteries were dissolved by Henry VIII in 1540 the castle was granted to Patrick Barnwell, Solicitor General for Ireland. The castle was recorded in the 'Downs Survey'; so called because details of the properties were written down, as Roebuck's Wall and described as a thatched castle belonging to the Barnwalls of Turvey. It was after this time that one storey of the tower was removed.
Manderley Castle
County Dublin • A96 CV62 • Historic Places
Manderley Castle is situated on the outskirts of Killiney, 9 miles south of Dublin on the Irish coastline. It has wonderful views across the Dublin Bay all the way to Wales. Manderley Castle is a castellated Victorian style turreted mansion house built over three floors, surrounded by high walls and 3.5 acres of landscaped gardens and forested areas. Facilities The castle is the private home of Irish musician Enya and not open to the public. Manderley Castle was previously known as both Ayesha Castle and Victoria Castle. The original Victoria Castle was built by Robert Warren in 1840 to commemorate the acession to the thrown of Queen Victoria. The castle was built with a secret tunnel which led from the bottom of the garden down to Killiney Beach which has now been sealed up. The castle was restored in 1928 by Sir Thomas Power; the owner of the famous John's Lane Whiskey Distillery in Dublin, after the interior was very badly damaged by a fire. He also renamed the castle Ayesha Castle after the goddess in Rider Haggard's novel 'She' who rose from the flames. In 1995 the castle was turned into a gallery and craft room by the Aylmer family. They converted the stables and parts of the ground floor for exhibition space. The castle was put up for sale in 1997 and sold to the muscian Enya for 3.8 million euro. It was reported that she outbid another famous Irish celebrity Michael Flatley who also wanted to buy the castle. After its sale the castle was renamed for the third time to Manderley Castle after the name of the house featured in Daphne du Maurier's book 'Rebecca'. Since purchasing the castle Enya has made significant changes to the castle's boundaries and has reinforced many of the gates and walls. The height of the walls has been raised to 9 feet tall and in places has another 4 feet of railings on top. Despite the new fortifications Manderley has still been subject to two security breaches. The Arts The castle is owned by Irish musician Enya
Pucks Castle
County Dublin • A98 K821 • Historic Places
Pucks Castle is a ruined tower house in Shankill, County Dublin, associated with the Archbold family of Anglo-Norman descent who held landholdings in south County Dublin throughout the medieval period. The castle survives within the modern southern suburbs of Dublin, a reminder of the medieval agricultural and defensive history of the greater Dublin hinterland. The hillside position with views toward Bray Head and the Irish Sea reflects the characteristic preference of tower house builders for defensible elevated sites. The name Puck may derive from the Irish poc meaning a male goat, or from supernatural folklore associations that isolated ruins commonly acquired in Irish tradition.
Rathfarnham Castle
County Dublin • D14 K3T6 • Historic Places
Rathfarnham Castle is situated in the village of Rathfarnham 3 miles south of Dublin. The castle is a large white four storey Georgian house consisting of a square house with towers at each corner, it is set in formal gardens and on part of the estate visitors can see a Roman Triumphal Arch used as the grand entrance. Facilities The castle is undergoing a huge refurbishment programme but remains open to the public where visitors are able to witness conservation in action. The castle is open from May until October 9.30am to 5.30pm with the tearooms open all year. Rathfarnham Castle was originally a semi fortified castle built on the site of an earlier Anglo Norman castle in around 1583 for the Lord Chancellor of Ireland and the Archbishop of Dublin, Adam Loftus. During the confederate wars in the mid 1600's the castle changed hands many times and it is believed that Oliver Cromwell held council there during his campaign in Ireland. The Loftus family recovered the castle and in 1771 and Henry Loftus was created 1st Earl of Ely. In celebration the family constructed a Triumphal Arch and converted the medieval castle into a Georgian mansion house removing the battlements, enlarging the windows and adding a semi circular extension to the east of the castle. In 1812 the Loftus family moved to Loftus Hall in Wexford and leased the estate as a diary farm which fell into disrepair. In 1852 is was sold to Francis Blackburne the Lord Chancellor who's family resided there for three generations. In 1912 property developers purchased the house and estate and divided into three parts. The Castle was sold to a Jesuit Order, part of the estate was sold for housing and the other part was developed as a golf course. In 1985 the castle was in line for demolition and was sold to Delaware properties but after public pressure the state took over the building and it became a National Monument. Legends Legend has it that the ghost of a woman haunts the ballroom. Two suitors decided to incarcerate their loved one behind the ballroom's wooden paneling; the winner of the duel for her affection would set her free. Unfortunately both of them died and so she remained there for 130 years.
Swords Castle
County Dublin • K67 P5W4 • Historic Places
Swords Castle in the centre of Swords town in County Dublin is a large thirteenth-century enclosure castle built by Archbishop Henry de Loundres of Dublin as a palace for the Archbishop of Dublin, one of the most significant ecclesiastical castles in Ireland. The substantial pentagonal enclosure of approximately one acre with curtain walls, towers and chapel reflects the considerable landed wealth and administrative ambitions of the medieval Dublin archbishopric. Restored and opened to visitors in 2015, the castle now forms a prominent heritage attraction in one of Ireland's largest and fastest-growing towns, providing an important reminder of the deep medieval history beneath the modern suburban landscape of north County Dublin.
Tully's Castle
County Dublin • D22 XP03 • Historic Places
Tully's Castle is a ruined tower house in Dublin associated with the Tully family, minor landholders in the medieval hinterland of the city. The castle represents the type of small fortified residence common in the agricultural lands of County Dublin during the later medieval period, when numerous Anglo-Norman and Old English families maintained tower houses throughout the county to protect their landholdings and assert local status. The medieval rural landscape of County Dublin was densely settled by the families who formed the backbone of colonial Pale society, and while many such structures have been absorbed into the modern suburban landscape, Tully's Castle survives as a fragment of this medieval heritage.
Back to interactive map