Showing up to 15 places from this collection.
Ballinalacken CastleCounty Clare • V95 VHP4 • Historic Places
Ballinalacken Castle stands on the edge of the Burren in County Clare, a region famous across Ireland and Europe for its dramatic limestone landscape and extraordinary botanical diversity. The castle is generally linked to the O'Brien family and is thought to date from the fifteenth century, when tower houses became the dominant form of fortified residence across Ireland. Its elevated position gave commanding views over the surrounding Burren terrain and toward the Atlantic coast, making it both a practical defensive site and an unmistakable statement of the authority its builders wished to project over the land around them.
The Burren is a remarkable setting for any historic building. Instead of lush woodland or river valleys, the castle looks out across exposed limestone pavements, fissured rock known as clints and grykes, and sparse wind-shaped vegetation that includes Arctic, Mediterranean and Alpine plant species growing in improbable proximity. That starkness gives Ballinalacken a distinct character entirely unlike the castles of Ireland's greener western valleys. Here the building remains visually tied to the medieval landscape that made it strategically useful, rather than being absorbed into later settlement or vegetation growth.
As with many Irish tower houses, Ballinalacken was built to serve both domestic and military functions simultaneously. It was not simply a battlefield structure or garrison post. It would have contained living quarters, storage areas and service spaces, all compressed into a vertical building form that could be more easily defended than a sprawling ground-level residence. Narrow window openings, thick walls and restricted access points are all part of that logic, and even in ruin the castle retains enough of its form to reveal how compact and disciplined this style of building was.
The site reflects the long continuity of settlement in this part of Clare. The Burren is full of prehistoric monuments including portal dolmens and wedge tombs, early Christian remains, medieval religious houses and the traces of ancient field systems that have survived because the thin soils over the limestone were never deep enough to attract the kind of intensive ploughing that has destroyed so many similar sites elsewhere in Ireland. Ballinalacken belongs to this broader cultural landscape rather than standing in isolation, and visitors are stepping into one of Ireland's most layered historic regions, where natural geology and human history seem closely intertwined across every century.
The nearby coastal scenery of Fanore and Black Head adds further appeal to the area and makes Ballinalacken a natural stop on a circuit of the northern Burren and the Cliffs of Moher coastline.
Bunratty CastleCounty Clare • V95 WA26 • Historic Places
Bunratty Castle is situated alongside the River Ratty in the centre of the village between Shannon and Cork which are only 7 miles away.
The castle is a large single tower house over five floors, built in grey stone. It is the most authentically restored and complete medieval fortresses in Ireland and situated within a folk park of 26 acres.
Facilities
The main attraction to visitors of Bunratty Castle is the collection of medieval furniture and objects with over 450 pieces on display. All the articles are genuine, not reproductions. There are knowledgeable guides to talk about both the pieces and life for the castles occupants.
The castle is open all year (with the exception of Christmas and good Friday) and closes at 16:00 to prepare for the nightly banquet; tickets are available separately.
The castle does not have its own restaurants or gift shop but they can all be found (along with a traditional pub) within the folk park.
The first stone castle to be built on the site was in the 1270's by Thomas De Clare. In 1318 his son Richard was killed in battle and the castle and nearby town totally destroyed. The King of England restored Bunratty only for it to be demolished by Irish chieftains 14 years later when it was left in ruins for over 20 years and then rebuilt by Sir Thomas Rokeby before yet another attack by the Irish.
Today's castle was built around 1425 by the MacNamara family. During a battle in 1475 it fell into the hands of the O'Brien clan who were granted the title of 'Earls of Thomond' by Henry VIII but later surrendered Bunratty to Cromwell's troops. The last family to live at Bunratty was the Studdart family; they left in 1804 when it fell into disrepair.
In 1954 Viscount Lord Gort purchased the castle and restored it with the help of the Tourist Board and Government. In 1960 it was opened to the public as a national monument and is now managed by Shannon Heritage.
Carrigaholt CastleCounty Clare • V15 TW96 • Historic Places
Carrigaholt Castle is a well-preserved five-storey tower house at the edge of Carrigaholt village on the Shannon Estuary in County Clare, built in the late fifteenth century by the MacMahon family to control sea approaches to the inner estuary. The walls stand to their full height, retaining vaulted ceilings, mural stairs and corbelling. Carrigaholt is today known as a departure point for dolphin-watching boat trips on the Shannon Estuary, home to one of Europe's largest resident populations of bottlenose dolphins. The Loop Head Peninsula extending westward between the Shannon and the Atlantic is one of Ireland's finest coastal landscapes.
Doonagore CastleCounty Clare • V95 T623 • Historic Places
Doonagore Castle is situated on a hill about half way between the village of Doolin and the Cliffs of Moher on the County Clare coast.
The castle is a round tower house with a small courtyard enclosed by a defensive wall. With its elevated position overlooking Doolin Point, the castle serves as a navigational landmark for boats approaching Doolin Pier.
Facilities
Doonagore Castle is a private holiday home, and not open to the public.
Doonagore Castle was built in the 16th century, although an earlier castle stood on the site since the 1300s. The castle was granted to Sir Turlough O'Brien of Ennistymon in 1582. During the retreat of the Spanish Armada in 1588, one of the fleeing Spanish ships was shipwrecked off the coast and 170 survivors were captured and hanged at Doonagore Castle. The castle had started to fall into disrepair by the early 1800s, and was repaired by Counselor Gore, but again deteriorated by the middle of the 19th century. In the 1970's, it was restored by architect Rex MacGovern for an American buyer named O'Gorman. The castle is still owned by the O'Gorman family.
Doonbeg CastleCounty Clare • Historic Places
The name, Doonbeg, is derived from Dun Beag, meaning, the small fort. It is a village in West Clare on the Atlantic coast situated between Kilkee and Miltown Malbay. The area was officially classified as part of the West Clare Gaeltacht , an Irish-speaking community , until 1956.It is in the civil parish of Killard and part of the parish of Doonbeg.
Ownership.
The Village grew up around Doonbeg Castle which was built by Philip MacSheeda Mor Mac Con in the 16th century for the Earl of Thomond. Turlough MacMahon of West Corca Baiscinn took it in 1585. After his death in 1595 at the end of a fierce siege, the castle was surrendered again to the O’Brien’s who, as victors, hanged the entire garrison back to back. O’Brien, a supporter of Queen Elizabeth, received a grant of most of Tadhg Caoch MacMahon’s (heir of Turlough) property, including the castle.
O’Brien, Earl of Thomond, had possession in 1619 when he gave it to James Comyn. Nicholas Strich Fitznicholas of Limerick, also put in a claim for the castle, as Nicholas Strich’s heir, around this time. It was confiscated by the Crown for failure to repay debts in 1688 and sold in 1703.
Design.
When T. J. Westropp visited the castle in 1893, it stood 60 feet high with a frontage of 45 feet from west to east and a depth of 33 feet from south to north. By that time it lacked gables, battlements and chimneys. Despite its condition, seven families lived in the tower. In 1907 two families lived there and when Westropp returned a few years later, a man occupied one of the small western rooms. Up to 1930 it was occupied and and one of its occupants was a schoolmaster named Michael Scanlan. Locals used its upper floor with its mossy overgrowth as a picnic spot since it afforded privacy and beautiful views.
In September of 1939, the castle was in a dangerous condition due to the effects of nature and the crumbling of the river bank. Sadly, most of the castle has come down, leaving only the north-western corner standing. There has been no appreciable structural changes in the last 40 years and it remains today a strong link with Ireland’s rich heritage
Dromoland CastleCounty Clare • V95 ATD3 • Historic Places
Dromoland Castle is situated 8 miles from Shannon in the west of Ireland. It is set in over 400 acres of landscaped grounds on the side of a lake.
The castle is approached by a long sweeping drive from the lodge. It is a gothic revival or Baronial building made entirely from dark blue limestone with four irregular castellated turrets and a later Queen Anne addition. The castle is set in formal gardens with the lake to the west.
Facilities
Dromoland Castle is now a 5 star hotel offing facilities such as a championship golf course, many country sports as well as a spa and falconry centre.
It has 98 bedrooms all decorated in a French style with luxurious furnishings and bathrooms. There are two restaurants; the Earl of Thomomd dining room overlooking the lake and the fig tree restaurant adjacent to the rose garden. During the evening the Library hosts a cocktail bar with music in the form of Irish Ballads.
The first building on the site was by Thomas MacAnerheny in the late 15th, early 16th century and was a tower house similar to Bunratty. It was home to the O'Brien family for eight generations.
During 1543 the castle was rebuilt by Murrough O'Brien and over one hundred years later the most powerful branch of the family moved to Dromoland. In 1730 Sir Edward built the turret on the hill opposite to allow him to watch his racehorses and the second Queen Anne style castle was built on the estate which included a quadrangle courtyard and guestrooms. In 1800's the present main gothic building of the castle was rebuilt.
In 1921 the IRA called for the destruction of the castle but the decision was reversed and the O'Brien's remained in residence but in 1948 were forced to take paying guests to keep the castle running. It was eventually sold in 1962 to Bernard McDonough; an American of Irish ancestry with the O'Brien's still keeping part of the estate to continue to run the farm and sporting activities. The new owner ordered major renovations and today a consortium of Irish American investors owns the castle and estate.
Dysert O'Dea CastleCounty Clare • Historic Places
The castle is built on a rocky outcrop, 3 miles south of Corofin, and 7 miles north of Ennis in the west of Ireland.
Dysert O'Dea Castle is a fully restored castellated Gaelic Tower house built in grey stone over four floors. It is situated on an archaeological site with twenty five other field monuments.
Facilities
Clare Archaeology Centre is now housed in the Dysert O'Dea Castle. Within the castle's ten rooms are many displays of local artifacts dating back to 1000BC, a medieval carpenter and mason's workshop and 'The Modern History Room' with objects from 1700AD up until 2000AD. The castle also has its own audio visual presentation and perhaps one of the most popular activities is the walk along the roof with views over the surrounding countryside.
Also on the site is the Dysert O'Dea church from the 12th century with the remains of a round tower and St. Tola's High Cross. The cross also dates back to the 12th century and is said to be one of the finest examples of this kind of structure in Ireland. The castle is also part of the Archeology and History trail which takes in all twenty five points of interest within the site.
The castle has its own tearoom and bookshop and is open daily between 1st May to 30th September between 10am and 6pm.
It was on this site in 1318 that the Battle of Dysert O'Dea was fought and was responsible for the departure of the Anglo Normans from the area for over 200 years.
The castle was built some 162 years later, in 1480 by Lord Cineal Fearmaic, Dairnuid O'Dea and during the war with Cromwell sustained heavy damage.
In 1968 whilst on a holiday in the area an American, John O'Day, discovered the ruins of the castle up for sale and purchased them. He started work on the castle's restoration in 1971 and by 1983 it was finished. Since 1986 it has been used as the archeological centre for the area.
Gleninagh CastleCounty Clare • V95 XH89 • Historic Places
Gleninagh Castle is a well-preserved sixteenth-century tower house on the northern edge of the Burren in County Clare, associated with the O'Lochlainn family who were lords of the northern Burren throughout the later medieval period. The compact four-storey tower with corbelled machicolations stands at the foot of the Burren limestone escarpment where it meets the shore of Galway Bay. Managed by the Office of Public Works and freely accessible, the castle commands one of the most distinctive coastal settings in Clare. The northern Burren is celebrated for its extraordinary botanical diversity, with Arctic, Mediterranean and Alpine plants growing in the cracks of exposed limestone pavement alongside a remarkable density of Neolithic and early Christian sites.
Knappogue CastleCounty Clare • Historic Places
Knappogue Castle can be found 17 miles from Shannon in a pleasant open countryside setting amongst the hills of County Clare.
The castle is a fully restored medieval tower house in just over an acre of gardens which have also been replanted with climbing roses, grapevines and a collection of clematis growing over the tall walls.
Facilities
From May until September Knappogue Castle and Gardens are open for the public to freely wander around during the daytime. The castle also offers a nightly Medieval Banquet experience, with an evening of traditional song and dance following in the footsteps of the castle's previous owners.
From October until April the castle is transformed into a wedding venue with private blessings available in the castle's chapel and receptions in the Great Hall. The bridal suite, situated in one of the castle's wings, boasts five bedrooms and is furnished with period furniture and a welcoming open fire.
In another part of the castle grounds overlooking the formal gardens there is a luxury self contained apartment available to rent. Accommodating up to ten people in five bedrooms, the two storey apartment offers a fully equipped kitchen, drawing room and dining room and the highlight of each morning is a full Irish Breakfast.
Knappogue castle was built by Sean MacNamara in 1467 and became the home of the MacNamara clan leader Donagh who led the Irish rebellion in 1641. The castle remained with the family until it was confiscated by Cromwell's soldiers and granted to Arthur Smith a 'Roundhead', but in 1660 the castle was returned once more to the MacNamara clan.
The castle was sold to the Scotts in 1800 who extended it considerably and restored the parts that had been damaged due to fighting. The restoration work was continued by the castles' next owner Lord Dunboyne in 1855.
During the War of Independence the castle was occupied by Clare County Council and then left in a state of disrepair. During the 1920's the castle was abandoned and the land leased to a local farmer who was eventually awarded the castle as compensation for the loss of one of his cows which was killed in the ruins.
The last occupants of the castle were the Andrews family from Houston in Texas who purchased the property in 1966. Lavonne Andrews; the Hon. Mark Andrews' wife, was a prominent architect and was responsible for fully restoring the castle into its original sate of the 15th Century. In 1996 the castle was sold to Shannon Developments.
It is said that during the castle's history many heads of state have stayed as guests of the castles owners including Ronald Regan and Charles de Gaulle.
Leamaneh CastleCounty Clare • V95 H8R4 • Historic Places
Leamaneh Castle is a striking ruin in the heart of the Burren in County Clare, combining a tall sixteenth-century O'Brien tower house with the remains of a substantial seventeenth-century manor house. The castle stands at a crossroads of the open limestone Burren, its tall silhouette visible across the characteristic grey-white pavements. It is associated with Máire Rua, the formidable seventeenth-century noblewoman legendary for her fierce defence of the estate following her husband's death in 1651. The attached manor of around 1640 illustrates the transition from medieval to early modern domestic architecture. Freely accessible, Leamaneh forms a central stop on any exploration of the Burren's richly layered heritage.
Newtown CastleCounty Clare • H91 CF60 • Historic Places
Newtown Castle is set in open countryside 1.5 miles south west of Ballynaughan in the west of Ireland. From the top of the castle it is possible to see Galway Bay, Connemara and Corkscrew hill.
The castle is a five storey fortified circular tower house set on a square pyramid base giving the impression of a rocket ship.
The castle has been restored and it is possible to visit all levels of the tower via a spiral staircase. The ground floor boasts a dome vaulted ceiling and walls that are over twelve feet thick in places; this is originally where the food would have been stored. The first floor has narrow windows which were used for defence and the second floor has a small door opening onto the outside; 30 feet down, where the occupants could have climbed down a ladder as an escape route.
The towers main hall also has a dome vaulted ceiling and a balcony looking out over the countryside beyond and the top floor has a new conical oak roof.
Facilities
The castle is open to the public all year from 10am until 6pm with tours available. The top floor now being used as a gallery for the nearby Burren College of Art.
The castle is also a good place to start the Newtown Nature Trail a guided walk of just under a mile.
Newtown Castle was built in the 16th century by part of the O'Brien clan. The castle then passed to the local O'Loughlin (also spelt O'Lochlainn or O'Loghlen) family.
In the 1830's the castle was home to Charles O'Loughlin who was given the title locally of the 'King of Burren', later his son Peter took over in the 19th century as the 'Prince of Burren'. The family remained there until the end of the 1800's when the castle fell into ruins. In the 1990s, restoration of the castle began and in 1994 fifteen craftsmen took seventy two days to complete a new roof cone made of seven tonnes of Irish oak.
O Brien's TowerCounty Clare • V95 KN9T • Historic Places
The O'Brien Tower is built on a headland of the Cliffs of Moher near the village of Doolin overlooking Galway Bay 6 miles from Lisdoonvarna in the west of Ireland.
The shale and sandstone cliffs are one of Ireland's major tourist sites rising from 394 feet at Hags Head to the highest point five miles away which is just north of O'Brien's Tower at 702 feet.
The three storey castellated observation tower is built of grey stone and is situated in open surroundings. It has been fully restored after months of conservation work.
Facilities
Visitors can use the tower's top floor viewing platform for long reaching views over the bay and out towards the Twelve Bens mountain range; also known as the Twelve Pins, in Connemara, Loop Head at the southern tip of County Clare and the Aran Islands to the west. The castle also has a gift shop and a gallery for local artists on the first floor.
The tower is open daily and access to the viewing platform is via a spiral staircase.
It is also possible to have exclusive use of the first floor and roof of the tower (not usually available during the peak tourist season between June and August) for private functions, renewal of vows and wedding blessings, when castle staff can also arrange musicians and storytellers.
Visitors to the tower can also take in the 'Cliffs of Moher Visitor Experience' which is built into the hillside nearby and learn about the geology, flora and fauna of the area including some of the oldest rocks at the bottom of the cliffs where a channel has been cut by a river 300 million years old.
The tower was built as an observation tower for the hundreds of Victorian tourists visiting the area by a local man Sir Cornelius O'Brien; a descendent of the Kings of Thomond from Bunratty Castle and The High King of Ireland Brian Borou, in 1835.
He was famous for being one of the first people in the area to exploit tourism hoping to bring much needed revenue to the local economy. He was also responsible for building a wall along the cliffs using Moher flagstones and got a reputation of being 'the person who built everything apart from the cliffs'. On his death in 1857 he was buried in the O'Brien vault which adjoins St Brigid's Well at Liscannor.
The Arts
The Cliff of Moher have featured in many films amongst them 'The Princess Bride' (1987) and 'Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince' (2009). The ashes of Dusty Springfield were also scattered at the cliffs.