TravelPOI

Historic Places in County Cork

Explore Historic Places in County Cork with maps and reviews on TravelPOI.

Top places
Showing up to 15 places from this collection.
Ballea Castle
County Cork • P43 DD39 • Historic Places
Ballea Castle is situated on a cliff overlooking the Owenboy River in Carrigaline about 8 miles south of Cork City Ballea Castle is a three storey tower with a more recent two storey wing making an L-plan structure. The building has prominent crenellations, and the large windows show that it is designed as a residence rather than a fortress. There is a large White Horse painted on a cliff face below the castle which can be seen from the Ballea Road. Facilities The castle is a private residence and is not open to the public. The castle was built in the 15th century. It appears to have been renovated and extended into a three storey L-plan fortified house in the 17th century. It was home to the MacCarthy family until the late 17th century. The castle then fell into disrepair until 1750 when restoration work was undertaken by the Hodder family who held it to until the early 1900s. The castle has been modernised in more recent times and is now a private residence. Legends Legend has it that one of the Hodder daughters fell in love with a local farmer's son. Her father was furious, wanting her to marry a man of his choice. An argument ensued. The daughter's horse bolted over the edge of the cliff, with both daughter and horse falling to their deaths. The White Horse was painted on the cliff to mark this fateful day.
Ballintotis Castle
County Cork • P25 X300 • Historic Places
Ballintotis Castle is a medieval tower house in County Cork, representative of the densely settled fortified landscape that developed across Munster during the later Middle Ages. Cork is one of Ireland's richest counties for tower houses, and Ballintotis belongs to the tradition of smaller fortified residences built by local landholding families who needed a defensible home that expressed their status and provided practical protection in a period when local conflict and raiding were recurring features of rural life. The tower house form was remarkably successful precisely because it was adaptable to a wide range of budgets and landholding situations. The largest and most powerful lords built extensive complexes with additional bawn walls, outbuildings and gate towers, while smaller landholders could construct a simple rectangular tower of two or three storeys that still provided the essential functions of elevation, strong walls and a defensible entrance. Ballintotis represents this tradition in its local Cork form, using the materials and building practices characteristic of this part of Munster. The landscape context of the castle is typical of the fertile agricultural county that Cork has always been. The rivers, rolling farmland and mixture of Old English, Anglo-Norman and Gaelic settlement patterns that characterise this part of the county produced a particularly dense concentration of castles and fortified houses. Ballintotis sits within that matrix, one of several dozen such structures surviving in various states of preservation across the area, and understanding it in relation to its neighbours gives the best picture of how fortified settlement actually functioned as a system of local control rather than as a series of isolated buildings. Today the castle is an evocative ruin in a rural setting, valued as a survival of the medieval landscape that preceded the plantation and reorganisation of landownership that transformed much of Munster in the late sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. County Cork's coastal scenery, extensive harbour and wealth of historic sites make it one of Ireland's most rewarding destinations, and Ballintotis adds a local dimension to a heritage picture that extends from the prehistoric stone circles of the Beara Peninsula to the walled city of Youghal.
Ballybeg Dovecot
County Cork • P51 E285 • Historic Places
Ballybeg Dovecot near Buttevant in County Cork is one of the finest surviving medieval dovecotes in Ireland, a tall circular tower built to house hundreds of pigeons providing fresh meat and eggs for the adjacent Augustinian priory. Dovecotes were important elements of monastic and manorial estates across medieval Europe, and complete Irish examples are rare, making Ballybeg particularly significant. The priory, founded in the thirteenth century, preserves a remarkably complete complex of medieval buildings including church, cloister, tower house and dovecote. The internal arrangement of nesting boxes around a rotating potence allowed efficient collection of eggs and young birds throughout the year.
Ballyclogh Castle
County Cork • Historic Places
Ballyclogh Castle is situated in the village of Ballyclogh The castle is a square tower house which is now in ruins, and the roof has collapsed. Trees are growing around the castle, and starting to invade the ruins. Ballyclogh Castle was the home of the MacRoberts branch of the Barrys. It was forfeited in 1641 and given to the Purdons. Ballyclogh Castle was surrendered to the Williamites in 1691. In the early 19the century, the castle was renovated and occupied by the estate steward. Lean-to buildings were built against the surrounding defensive wall, but these are all in ruins.
Ballyhooly Castle
County Cork • Historic Places
Ballyhooly Castle is situated amongst woodland on the north side of the River Blackwater near the town of Mallow in County Cork. The original castle is a five storey tower house with a relatively modern 20th century two storey fishing lodge adjoining the side of the medieval tower. The castle has been well maintained, and the house has been recently refurbished, making it a comfortable family home. Facilities Ballyhooly Castle offers comfortable self-catering accommodation for up to eight guests, with three double bedrooms, two single bedrooms, and four bathrooms. The castle has a dining room, sitting room, drawing room and kitchen. A housekeeper and cleaner are on hand to look after the property, and cooking services can be provided. The castle overlooks the river offering picturesque views and pleasant walks in the nearby woods. The castle has exclusive private access to five miles of fishing on the River Blackwater, one of the best salmon rivers in western Europe. The Lakes of Killarney are within an hour drive, and other activities in the area include golf, walking, cycling and horse riding. The castle was built to guard a ford over the River Blackwater in the 16th century. Ballyhooly Castle was occupied by the Roches until it was forfeited in the Confederate Wars, when occupation passed to Richard Aldworth. The castle was restored in 1862, and the fishing lodge was added in the 1920s.
Ballynacarriga Castle
County Cork • P47 AD98 • Historic Places
Ballynacarriga Castle (also known as Ballinacarriga Castle) is set on a rocky outcrop overlooking Ballynacarriga Lough, about 5 miles from the town of Dunmanway in the west of County Cork. Ballynacarriga Castle is a large four storey tower house. It is about 15m by 12m with walls are over 6 feet thick at the base. There is a short section of defensive wall remaining at the north east corner. At ground level there is a spiral staircase at the north east corner, and a guard chamber from the main entrance lobby. The eastern doorway has been reconstructed, but it still retains the portcullis groove. A Sheela na Gig carving (a naked woman) can be seen high above and to the right of the door. The north west and south east corners have bartizans at third storey level. The third storey has vaulted ceilings. Fireplaces are set into the southern wall of the second storey and fourth storey. The castle features a number of carvings in the window recesses. At second storey level, there is a carving of a female figure with roses, and carvings of geometric designs. At the fourth storey level, there are carvings of the Passion of Christ. The are also carvings of the initials RM CC believed to be the initials of Randal Muirhily (Hurley) and his wife Catherine O'Cullane. The wooden ceiling which would have covered the basement of the castle has disappeared, but the stone corbels still remain. On the second floor there is a garderobe (a primitive toilet) on the north side built over a chute. The castle roof, parapets and battlements are missing. On the south east is the remains of one of the original four defensive towers which guarded the main castle, but the other three towers have gone. Facilities The local residents association has carried out improvements to the site. Ballynacarriga Castle was built in 1585 by Randal Hurley. (The date 1585 can be seen in a window-recess on the top floor). The castle was forfeited by the Hurleys in 1654, and it passed to the Crofts. It is believed that the castle was used as a chapel as well as a family residence. Locals say that the chapel was still in use until 1815.
Ballynamona Castle
County Cork • Historic Places
Ballynamona Castle is a ruined tower house in County Cork, Ireland. The castle is a four storey square tower house with corbelled turrets at opposite corners. There used to be a house attached to the castle, and the remains of the gables can be seen on the walls. Ballynamona Castle was built by the Nagles around 1600. The castle was occupied until the 19th century. There was once a Sheela na Gig (carving on a naked woman) on the castle wall, but around 1894, the Sheela was removed from the castle wall and attached near the entrance door. Around 1900 the figure was removed and smashed. Apparently, while the castle owner Garrett Nagle was in London, tradesmen working on the castle found the Sheela na Gig, broke it and scattered the pieces.
Blarney Castle
County Cork • T23 E722 • Historic Places
Blarney Castle in County Cork is one of the most visited tourist attractions in Ireland, famous throughout the world for the Blarney Stone, a block of limestone set into the battlements of the fifteenth-century tower that visitors lean back over a significant drop to kiss, reportedly acquiring thereby the gift of eloquence and persuasive speech. The origin of the tradition is uncertain and probably relatively recent in historical terms, but the international fame of the Blarney Stone has made the castle one of the essential stops on any tour of Ireland and has brought visitors from virtually every country in the world to this otherwise pleasant but unremarkable corner of County Cork. The castle itself is a substantial and well-preserved fifteenth-century tower house built by Cormac Laidir MacCarthy, whose family dominated this part of Munster for several centuries. The tower rises to impressive height within its ruined enclosure walls and the views from the battlements over the surrounding parkland and the woodland of the Blarney estate are extensive. The castle's most famous literary association is with Queen Elizabeth I, whose exasperation with the evasive diplomatic responses of Cormac MacCarthy to her demands for submission allegedly led her to describe his excuses as all Blarney, giving the language a new word for flattery and empty talk. The Blarney Castle estate extends to considerable size and includes extensive woodland gardens, the Rock Close with its dolmen, witches' kitchen and druidic stone, and the formal gardens around the castle. The woodland walks through the estate are genuinely beautiful and often undervisited by those who come primarily for the stone, providing a rewarding hour of walking in mature mixed woodland beside the Blarney River. The walled garden and the arboretum add botanical interest. Blarney village below the castle has developed into a lively destination with a variety of shops, restaurants and the famous Blarney Woollen Mills providing visitor facilities and gifts.
Carrigadrohid Castle
County Cork • P12 HX67 • Historic Places
Carrigadrohid Castle is situated on a rocky outcrop in the River Lee near the village of Carrigadrohid in central Cork. The castle is a ruined three storey tower in a picturesque setting on the river. It is joined to the river bank by a road bridge at second storey level which joins the eastern wall of the castle. Carrigadrohid Castle was built in the 15th century by the MacCarthys of Muskerry, and has been extended and modified over the years. In 1650, the castle was besieged by Parliamentary forces. The MacCarthys were dispossessed, and the castle was taken over by the Bowens who occupied it until the mid 18th century. The castle then fell into disrepair. In recent times, a local group has been established to preserve the castle
Carrigaphooca Castle
County Cork • P12 FN79 • Historic Places
Carrigaphooca Castle, whose name means the rock of the spirit in Irish, is a ruined tower house perched dramatically on a clifftop above the River Sullane near Macroom in County Cork. Associated with the MacCarthy Muskerry dynasty, the castle occupies a naturally defensible crag above a strategic valley pass connecting Macroom with west Cork. The rocky outcrop beneath the castle contains prehistoric rock art, suggesting the site held ceremonial significance long before the medieval tower was built. The town of Macroom is the gateway to west Cork, where the landscape transitions from pastoral midlands to the rugged mountain and lake scenery of the west.
Carrignacurra Castle
County Cork • P12 FN79 • Historic Places
Carrignacurra Castle is built on a rocky outcrop on the bank of the River Lee a mile east of Inchigeelagh. The castle is a four storey tower house. It is not quite square, with longest side 38 feet and shortest side 25 feet. The north west corner is an obtuse angle, and the south east corner is acute, with the other two corners right angled. The south east corner has a pointed triangular projection like a buttress (known as a redan), which was used as a defensive position to guard the south and east walls. There north western side has a wall-mounted turret (bartizan) on the corner for protecting the north and west walls. The east wall has a machicoulis (a projecting balcony with opening in the floor through which the occupants could drop stones and boiling liquids on attackers). The walls are about 50ft high but the battlements are missing. The corners have been damaged at the base with stones removed. Remains of a gable are attached to the east wall. A l5 foot high chimney is on the north wall. The ground floor has the main entrance, a small guard room, and a main chamber which was probably used as a store room. A spiral staircase leads to the upper floors. The first floor has a guard room which gives access to the redan which has three gun loops. The main chamber was probably a living area or store room. The second floor would have been the kitchen and living area and has a vaulted ceiling. The room has a single narrow window on the wet side, and a fireplace on the north wall. There is a passage within the north wall. On this floor is the garderobe or toilet. Access to the bartizan is from this floor, where there are five gun loops in the walls and two openings in the floor. The main living quarters for the family were on the third floor. This floor provides access to the fourth floor (attic) sleeping quarters and battlement wall walk. Carrignacurra Castle was built in the late 16th century, and was the seat of the O'Leary family. It was captured by O'Sullivan Beare in 1602, and later forfeited to the MacCarthys in 1641. The castle was taken over by the Masters family in the 18th century. The castle is undergoing restoration, and the corners have been repaired, having been vandalised in an attempt to remove stones. Timber floors have been installed on the second, third and fifth levels, and the attic level has been restored with the addition of a slated roof. Stonework has been repaired around the gun loops, windows, and door surrounds. The restoration is in keeping with the original construction.
Carrignamuck Castle
County Cork • P12 AY67 • Historic Places
Carrignamuck Castle (also known as Dripsey Castle) is situated about a mile from the village of Dripsey on the banks of the River Dripsey. The castle is a ruined five storey tower house. The eastern wall was damage by Oliver Cromwell's troops in the 17th century. It is part of a chain of castles owned by the Lords of Muskerry which extended from Blarney to other side of Macroom. Facilities Carrignamuck Castle is believed to have been built in the late 15th century. It was built by MacCarthy, Lord of Muskerry who also built the famous Blarney Castle and a number of other Irish Castles in the region. It was customary for the Lord of Muskerry to live in Blarney Castle, while his successor occupied Carrignamuck Castle. In 1650, Oliver Cromwell's troops led by Lord Broghill, attacked and captured Carrignamuck Castle. During the bombardment, the eastern wall was holed. Some years later, the castle was bought by the Colthurst family who built a new house in the grounds. In 1903 the castle was purchased by industrialist and politician Andrew O'Shaughnessy, but has not been inhabited for many years.
Castle Barrett
County Cork • P51 P1HN • Historic Places
Castle Barrett (Castel More) is situated on open grassy position south of the town of Mallow. The castle is in ruins, with just a few parts of the walls standing like stone sentinels. The remaining fragments are from the north and east walls. Castle Barrett was built around the 13th century. It was originally known as Castle More or Castlemore. In 1439 it was taken over by the Earl of Desmond. The Barrett family acquired the castle in the 17th century. The castle was damaged in 1645 by Oliver Cromwell's army. After the Battle of the Boyne in 1690, John Barrett who fought on the side of the Jacobites lost to the Williamites. Castle Barrett was destroyed and 12,000 acres of Barrett land was forfeited.
Castle Lyons
County Cork • Historic Places
Castle Lyons is situated 6 km south of Fermoy near the village of Castlelyons, in a field behind an industrial site off the main road near Castlelyons. The castle is now in ruins and becoming overgrown with plants. It was once a fortified house with most of the walls over 4 feet thick. Castle Lyons was one of the main seats of the Barry family in the 13th century, ever since King John granted the land to William de Barry. The Earl of Barrymore took over the castle in 1627 and built a large fortified house. In the 17th century the castle was held by the English as a stronghold against the Irish. Castle Lyons was captured by Lord Castlehaven after the battle of Manning Ford in 1643. The castle remained a habitable building until it was destroyed by fire accidently in 1771.
Castle Pook
County Cork • Historic Places
The ruins of Castle Pook stands five acres on a rocky outcrop near Doneraile at the foot of the Ballyhouras. The castle is ruined tower. Remains of the defensive wall form a ridge around what would have been the castle courtyard. Parts of a dry moat is visible. There is evidence of the site having been defended since prehistoric times, with traces of a ring for and ancient ramparts having been found on the site. Facilities The castle is on private land. Castle Pook was built around 1380 by the Norman, Geoffrey Synan (Geoffrey the Red). It was extended or rebuilt around 1500. The castle was forfeited by the Synans in 1639, and taken over by the St Leger family. The castle is privately owned and there are plans to restore the castle. Legends The poet Edmund Spenser lived near the castle and the legends of the castle may have inspired the name Pook in his poem, the Epithalamium. It is believed that the name Puck which Shakespeare used for Robin Goodfellow in A Midsummer Night's Dream may in turn have been inspired by Spenser's Pook.
Back to interactive map