TravelPOI

Historic Places in County Galway

Explore Historic Places in County Galway with maps and reviews on TravelPOI.

Top places
Showing up to 15 places from this collection.
Ardamullivan Castle
County Galway • Historic Places
Ardamullivan Castle is situated on a rocky outcrop surrounded by trees, about 5 miles south of Gort The castle is a is a restored six storey tower house. Part of the original defensive wall remains. Ardamullivan Castle was built in the 16th century by the O'Shaughnessy family. In 1579, Dermot O'Shaughnessy and his nephew John, fought each other in a dispute over the castle. The fight resulted in the death of both men. The castle fell into ruin and was restored in the last century.
Athenry Castle
County Galway • H65 PY26 • Historic Places
The castle is situated in the centre of the town of Athenry, 15 miles east of Galway in the west of Ireland. Athenry castle consists of a three-storey keep surrounded by a defensive curtain wall with two round towers. The keep was originally two storeys, the Great Hall and the basement. Another floor was added later. There is an area of grass between the keep and the bailey. After being left in ruins for over five centuries restoration on Athenry Castle commenced in 1990. Facilities The castle offers guided tours during the summer but has no facilities for visitors. Opening hours April/May/October, Tuesday to Sunday 10: - 17:00, June to September daily from 10:00 to 18:00. The castle Keep was built in 1253 by Meiler de Bermingham and after an attack in 1316 the large town wall were added. Not long after the completion of the walls, one of Ireland's bloodiest battles was fought outside the town between the King of Connaught and the Normans. Until that time the area and castle were of great importance but the story changed after the battle. Meiler's son raised the height of the first floor; he also embellished the entrance with a fine arched door at the south east end of the castle which was reached by a wooden staircase. During the reordering the banqueting hall was also enhanced with narrow trefoil headed windows; very rare in Irish castles. In the 15th century the tower was raised by two floors to include an attic and two gable ends and battlements were added. The basement only previously accessible by a trap door and ladder also benefited from having a new entrance. In 1596 the castle fell into the hands of the O'Donnell clan and never recovered from the great damage it sustained during the battle for its title and it wasn't until the late 1980's that the National Monuments branch of the Office of Public Works in Ireland started work on its restoration.
Aughanure Castle
County Galway • Historic Places
Aughanure Castle is situated 2 miles from the village of Oughterard, on the banks of the Drimneed River close to the shores of Lough Corrib. The Aughanure Castle site comprises of a well preserved tower house and circular watchtower with its stone corbelled roof and the ruins of a watch tower, banqueting hall and gatehouse with drawbridge. The tower with battlements is six storeys high. A stone spiral staircase leads to the upper rooms; the uppermost room has a new oak timbered roof. From here you can access the battlements for a view across the lake and surrounding countryside. Facilities The main attraction of the castle is some of the elaborate stone carvings especially in the ruined banqueting hall, some of the soldier's vantage points where they were able to attack unaware 'visitors' and the hiding places where they used to incarcerate prisoners. The castle is open daily between 09:30 - 18:00, April to September and during the rest of the year at weekends only. There are regular guided tours. The castle does not have its own restaurant but toilets are available for visitors. Aughanure Castle was thought to have been built by the Walter de Burgo and was home to the O'Flaherty clan in the 15th century. In 1572 the castle was badly damaged in a battle with the president of Connacht; Sir Edward Fitton and was subsequently rebuilt as it appears today, fortified by Morogh O'Flaherty. In 1618 King James I granted the castle to Hugh O'Flaherty but shortly after it fell into the hands of the Marquis of Clanrickarde who used it as a base against Cromwell's forces. In 1687 the castle was back in the hands of the O'Flaherty clan for a rent of 76 pounds per annum. In 1719 Bryan O'Flaherty bought the castle with the help of a mortgage which he borrowed from Lord Saint George but was unable to keep up the repayments and so the castle was lost again. The castle last changed hands in 1952 when the Commissioner for Public Works took over the building and restored the parapet, chimney and roof in 1963. It is now managed by the Heritage Service of the local government.
Ballynahinch Castle
County Galway • H91 F4A7 • Historic Places
Ballynahinch Castle is 41 miles west of Galway between Roundstone and Recess. It is set in 450 acres of private woodland overlooking the Twelve Bens mountain range and the river Ballynahinch. The appearance is more that of a crenellated Victorian mansion than a traditional castle. Made from honey colored stone it has 3 floors in the main building with the wings being only one or two floors. It is set in terraced gardens overlooking the river where fishing piers and the huts built in the 1920's and can still be seen today. Facilities Since 1946, Ballynahinch Castle has been used as a four star hotel offering salmon fishing, cycling, walking and game shooting. The hotel has 40 rooms, half in the older part of the castle with the more luxurious and superior rooms being situated in the two riverside wings. Its main Owenmore Restaurant serves seasonal Irish food and there is also the Fisherman's Pub offering less formal meals. The specialties of both these restaurants being freshly caught fish from the river below. The castle built in the 1750's was originally home to the 'ferocious' O'Flaherty clan who lived there until the end of the century. One of the notable residents was the wife of clan member Donal O'Flaherty, Grace O'Malley also known as Pirate Grace as she was a pirate on the high seas. When her husband murdered by a rival clan she took over as the head of the O'Flaherty family a great honor for a woman. In 1590 the ancestors of Richard Martin also known as 'Humanity Dick', the founder of the RSPCA took over the castle and it was re-built in the 1700's to be used as an Inn. Prince Ranjitsinhji Maharajah of Nawanager stayed at the castle in 1924 as guests of the Berridge family who then owned the estate. He fell in love with the area, castle and the fishing so much that he decided to buy the castle and return once a year until his death in 1932. The Arts One of the castles residents Grace O'Malley was the subject of the film 'The Pirate Queen' and also a book by Anne Chambers published in 2003 called Ireland's Pirate Queen.
Cromwell's Fort
County Galway • Historic Places
Cromwell's Fort is located on Inishbofin Island about 5 miles off the Connemara coast in County Galway, Ireland. The fort is a star-shaped fort perched on a rocky headland on Inishbofin Island, a relatively small island about 5.5 km long and 3 km wide. Cromwell's Fort is at the entrance to the harbour. The fort is now in ruins but much of the walls are standing, although some of the stonework has gone. The structure is about 120 feet by 80 feet with walls about 6 feet thick. . Facilities Inishbofin Island can be reached by ferry from Cleggan. The island has three hotels - Murray's Doonmore Hotel , Day's Inishbofin House Hotel and the Dolphin Hotel, and also a hostel. There is an airstrip on the island. The fort was built in the 1650's during Oliver Cromwell's occupation of Ireland. Inishbofin was captured by Cromwell's army and occupied by his troops until the end of the 17th century. Cromwell's forces used the fort as a detention centre for Catholic clergy and others who were waiting to be transported to the West Indies. After Cromwell's rule ended and Charles II was restored to the throne in 1660, Cromwell's Fort was used as a defensive structure. During the Jacobite War it was occupied by Irish Forces who held it until 1691, after which they surrendered to the Williamite Forces.
Dunguaire Castle
County Galway • H91 CK12 • Historic Places
Dunguaire Castle is one of the most photographed tower houses in Ireland, built in the sixteenth century on the shores of Galway Bay near Kinvara, its reflection mirrored perfectly in the still waters of the inlet. The castle gained cultural significance when the surgeon-poet Oliver St John Gogarty purchased it in 1924 and hosted W.B. Yeats and other figures of the Irish Literary Revival. Today operated by Shannon Heritage offering medieval banquets with traditional Irish music and poetry, Dunguaire sits at the northern edge of the Burren landscape near Kinvara's traditional boat festival and the broader heritage of the south Galway coastline.
Fiddaun Castle
County Galway • Historic Places
Fiddaun Castle is a tower house situated between Lough Doo and Lough Aslaun, near the village of Tubber, about five miles south west of Gort. The most notable feature of this rectangular tower house is the remarkably well preserved inner bawn wall. The tower is a six storey structure with vaulted ceilings over the first and fifth floors, and an attic on the top floor. There are square box-shaped bartizans on the northern and southern corners at third floor level. The bawn is a rectangle with a three storey gatehouse in the north western wall, and a triangular point on the south west wall. The outer wall is now mostly in ruins, but at one tie enclosed a massive twelve acres. Facilities Fiddaun Castle is on private land and is now maintained by the Office of Public Works. Fiddaun Castle was built around 1574, and is one of three castles in the area owned by the O'Shaughnessy family. (The other O'Shaughnessy castles were Gort Castle, Ardamullivan Castle). Fiddaun guarded the western parts of the O'Shaughnessy lands. Most of the O'Shaugnessy land was forfeited in 1697 when Sir William O'Shaughnessy, who had fought as a captain in the Jacobite cause, was forced to flee to France. The O'Shaughnessy family continued to occupy Fiddaun Castle until 1729.
Glinsk Castle
County Galway • Historic Places
Glinsk Castle is situated in the River Suck valley about 4 miles south east of Ballymoe and 4 miles north west of Creggs village in County Galway. The Castle is rectangular in plan with two square towers projecting from the southern side. It has three storeys and a raised basement. The main entrance way was on the first storey on the south side, between the two towers. The roof has gone, but was gabled with an attic. The interior walls and floors have gone. One of the most impressive features remaining are the prominent chimney stacks in the end walls. Each chimney stack has five tall shafts. The mullioned windows give the castle an elegant appearance more in keeping with a luxurious home than a traditional castle. Glinsk Castle did have defensive features such as gun loops, bartizans and high basements. The main door and the basement windows have gunloops at either side. It also used to have a surrounding defensive bawn wall with turrets, most of which has gone. Facilities Glinsk Castle is accessible to the public, and a key may be obtained from the house near the castle. Access is signposted. The castle is now a National Monument. Also in the area you will find the ruins of Ballinakill Abbey, built in the early 1700s. There is a 60 mile long walking trail nearby along the River Suck valley. Glinsk Castle was one of the last defensive castles to be built in Ireland, and shows the architecture transition from traditional fortified castle to a residential castellated house. It as built as a fortified tower house around in the mid 17th century, and was the home of Sir Ulick Burke, the Baronet of Glinsk. The castle was destroyed by fire in ??, and is now a well preserved ruin.
Portumna Castle
County Galway • H53 YK27 • Historic Places
Portumna Castle on the shore of Lough Derg in County Galway is one of the finest early seventeenth-century semi-fortified manor houses in Ireland, built around 1618 by Richard Burke, Earl of Clanricarde. The building marks the transition from purely defensive castle to comfortable Renaissance house, combining castellated features with larger windows and classical decorative details. The elaborate entrance facade with its carved heraldic panels and classical doorway is one of the most sophisticated pieces of early seventeenth-century architectural decoration in Ireland, reflecting the Clanricarde earls' connections with the English court and continental Europe. The castle and associated Cistercian priory are managed by the Office of Public Works and the formal gardens have been restored to their seventeenth-century layout.
Tyrone House
County Galway • H91 C1HW • Historic Places
Tyrone House stands on an outcrop by the sea, about two miles from Kilcolgan village in Ireland's County Galway. The structure is now a roofless and windowless ruin, made of blue-cut limestone, and stands three storeys high. Wild ivy covers its walls, It stands high on rocky soil, its front facing south to the Atlantic, with the Kilcolgan River beyond the woods to the north. It is easily visible from all around. Facilities Tyrone House can be viewed by the public from the outside. The house has commanding views over the surrounding Galway countryside. The House was built in 1779. It was originally owned by Christopher St. George. It was the personal home of the family. The building was one of the largest homes in the country, with the property growing at one point in the 19th century to 53,000 acres. However, it was destroyed in 1920 by arson during the Irish War of Independence by the local IRA unit. It was never rebuilt, and remained in abandon until 1972, when the Irish Georgian Society acquired it.
Back to interactive map