TravelPOI

Historic Places in County Limerick

Explore Historic Places in County Limerick with maps and reviews on TravelPOI.

Top places
Showing up to 15 places from this collection.
Adare Manor
County Limerick • V94 W8WR • Historic Places
Adare Manor is one of Ireland's most celebrated Gothic Revival country houses, built for the Earls of Dunraven along the River Maigue in County Limerick from the mid-nineteenth century. Designed by James Pain and P.C. Hardwick, it features battlemented towers, intricate stone tracery, a long gallery and a private chapel of exceptional quality. The estate contains medieval abbey and friary ruins within its grounds. Today operated as a five-star hotel and internationally acclaimed golf resort that hosted the 2027 Ryder Cup, the adjacent village of Adare with its thatched cottages is one of the most photographed in Ireland.
Askeaton Castle
County Limerick • V94 E978 • Historic Places
Askeaton Castle on the River Deel in County Limerick was the principal seat of the FitzGerald earls of Desmond, the most powerful Anglo-Norman dynasty in Munster. The complex includes a fifteenth-century keep, a great hall with elaborate late Gothic window tracery, and a walled bawn extending toward the river. The great hall reflects the sophisticated court culture of the Desmond earls and rivals comparable structures across Europe. A Franciscan friary founded by the FitzGeralds preserves a remarkably carved cloister on an island in the river. The Desmond connection ended during the rebellions of the 1580s when the earldom was crushed by English forces.
Bourchiers Castle
County Limerick • Historic Places
Bourchiers Castle is situated at the neck of a peninsula on Lough Gur near the town of Bruff in County Limerick. Bourchiers Castle is a ruined five storey tower house. It was also known as Castle Doon, and protected the northern approach to Knockadoon on Lough Gur. The southern approach was protected by nearby Black Castle. Facilities There is a visitors' centre beside Lough Gur, with a car park and picnic area. Near the visitors centre, there is a well maintained grassy area leading down to the lake . The lake is used for water sports, but motorised craft are not permitted on the lake. The castle itself is not open to the public. Bourchiers Castle was built in the 16th century. It was named after Sir George Bourchier, the son of the second Earl of Bath. The Earls of Bath held the castle until 1641.
Carrigogunnell Castle
County Limerick • V94 XTN1 • Historic Places
Carrigogunnell Castle is situated near the village of Clarina, on a bank of the River Shannon. The castle is an impressive fortress dominating a natural rocky crag. The castle is in ruins. The keep was a five storey tower structure with a spiral staircase, and the remains are over 50 feet high. There is a prominent circular bastion. The castle building construction was of cut limestone. On the east side is an adjoining house. Along the western side is a range of ruined buildings. The main gate is on the southern side with a smaller entrance to the west. Carrigogunnell Castle was built around 1450. During the Williamite War in Ireland, the castle was occupied by King James II's troops during the second siege of Limerick in 1691. Later in 1691 Lieutenant-General Scravemore acting for Dutch General Godert de Ginckell captured the castle. The castle occupants were taken as prisoners of war, and later in 1691 Carrigogunnell was blown up on de Ginckell's orders.
Desmond Castle
County Limerick • V94 KV2P • Historic Places
Desmond Castle, sometimes called Adare Castle, is situated next to the River Maigue outside the town of Adare in County Cork. There is another castle of the same name in Kinsale, County Cork. Desmond Castle is an interesting ruined castle with distinct inner ward and outer ward. The inner ward has a three storey square tower. The outer ward has two halls on the river side, including the large rectangular Great Hall. Near the Great Hall is the remains of the kitchen and service rooms. The main entrance with drawbridge is on the southern side, and was flanked by two towers. A square tower on the western side gives access to the outer ward. There is a moat that was surrounded by a curtain wall. Facilities A guided tour of Desmond Castle is available at The Heritage Centre in Adare village. Tours operate daily from June to September. The admission price includes the short coach transfer from the Heritage Centre to the Castle. The castle can also be viewed from the bridge over the River Maigue. The Heritage Centre is located in the centre of the picturesque Adare village. The Centre hosts an exhibition portraying the history of Adare from the Norman invasion, through medieval times, to the more recent history. Desmond Castle is believed to have been built by William de Burgo in the 12th century Ownership passed to the Earls of Kildare some time in the middle of the 13th century. It was granted to the Fitzgeralds, Earls of Desmond in 1536. In 1569, James Fitzmaurice FitzGerald led a rebellion against the English who occupied the south of Ireland at this time (during the reign of Queen Elizabeth). The first "Desmond Rebellion" was fought from 1569 to 1573. During the rebellion, the Fitzgeralds lost Desmond Castle to the English after a siege. The castle was later destroyed in 1657 by Parliamentary forces after Oliver Cromwell invaded Ireland. Restoration work commenced in 1996 and has since completed.
Dysert Castle
County Limerick • V94 D324 • Historic Places
Dysert Castle is a ruined tower house in County Limerick near Barrigone, in the flat agricultural lowlands of west Limerick close to the Shannon Estuary. The castle represents the fortified gentry residence tradition of Munster, providing defensible accommodation for a family whose prosperity derived from the fertile estuarine soils and river trade of this part of Limerick. West Limerick contains a notable concentration of tower houses, medieval church ruins and Norman mottes. The nearby Monasteranenagh Cistercian abbey and the various coastal fortifications along the Shannon estuary add to the heritage interest of this quiet rural area.
Fantstown Castle
County Limerick • V35 YW50 • Historic Places
Fantstown Castle stands in a farmyard about two and a half miles east of Kilmallock. It is a five storey fortified tower house about 56 feet high, and although in ruins, it is in fairly good condition. There are prominent bartizans on both the north western and south eastern corners of the fourth storey. There are fireplaces in the side walls of the third and fourth storeys. The fifth storey has a fireplace in the south western end wall. Fantstown Castle has a Sheela-na-gig about 4m up on the north corner of the castle, facing north east. Fantstown Castle was built in the early 1300s by the Fant family. It may have been built as an extension to an existing stone tower, due to construction of corner stones in the North wall. The castle was restructured in the 1600s, with the top half being replaced, and gun turrets added.
Glenquin Castle
County Limerick • V42 AV66 • Historic Places
Glenquin Castle is situated in countryside and woodland, 8 miles south of Newcastle West near the village of Killeedy in the west of Ireland. Glenquin Castle is a square, crenellated, six storey limestone tower house built over four floors which has been partly repaired and re-roofed. On the top floor of the castle there are the remains of stilts which were used by archers responsible for the castle's defense and also two barrel vaulted rooms. Facilities Although the castle is under the ownership of the Office of Public works it is not currently open to the public. The Irish name of Glenquin means Glen of Shelter, there is very little written about the history of the castle but it is thought to have been built in 1462 by the O'Hallinan clan on the site of an earlier building dating back to 983AD also belonging to them. The castle was taken in battle many times. One of the major families to take it being the O'Brien's, they were said to have killed all but one of the O'Hallinan's during the battle. In turn it was taken from the O'Brien's during the Desmond wars by the Geraldine's also known as the Fitzgerald's. They were recorded there until 1571 when the English confiscated their lands and the lands of over 100 of their supporters. It is recorded that parts of the castle were demolished by Sir Walter Raleigh and that in 1587 it was in the hands of the Hungerford's. In 1591 the castle was handed over to Sir William Courtenay and in 1595 to Captain Collum. The castles record's then stop until its restoration by the Earl of Devon in 1840. During the uprising in 1916 Glenquin castle was used as West Limerick's rallying point for the troops and it wasn't until the 1980's that further restoration of the castle took place. Glenquin Castle is now under the care of the Office of Public Works as a national monument and they are in the process of repairing and restoring it. The Arts The castle's name has also been given to a racehorse from Croom owned and trained by A J McNamara
Glin Castle
County Limerick • Historic Places
Glin Castle is situated on the banks of the River Shannon, 30 miles from Limerick in the west of Ireland. Built from local stone the fully restored castle is set in the centre of a 500 acre wooded estate with three gothic battlemented folly lodges. It is a plain Georgian castellated house with a colonnaded entrance built over three floors. Facilities Today Glin Castle is rented out on exclusive basis between March and November and is capable of sleeping up to 30 guests, or seating up to 50 people for wedding receptions and special occasions. Guests renting the castle will have full use of all the castle's rooms along with all the housekeeping and kitchen staff. On the ground floor the castle consists of a sitting or smoking room, library, drawing room and dining room. Access to first floor is via a distinctive flying staircase, which appears to have no support, where the individually designed guest bedrooms and bathrooms can be found, there are 4 deluxe rooms, 6 superior and 5 standard rooms; the superior and standard rooms being in the old castle wing or on the third floor. The castle's gardens are also available to guests with its walled kitchen garden and the opportunity to try tennis and croquet on the lawns. The castle was originally a long thatch house built by in the 1780's by Colonel Richard Fitzgerald; Knight of Glin and decedent of the Desmond clan, to replace an earlier ruined medieval settlement. The castle was added to by his nephew John Fitzgerald until 1790 when he incorporated the long house into the west wing. He was also responsible for enlarging the main block by adding a hall, grand double flying staircase, two more reception rooms the drawing room and library. The castle is still in the hands of the Knights of Glin with the current owner being the 29th Knight and his wife who are also involved with the auction house 'Christies' of London.
King Johns Castle
County Limerick • V94 C63X • Historic Places
King Johns Castle sits on the banks of the River Shannon on what is known as King's Island, 24 miles from Shannon in the centre of the city of Limerick. The castle is well preserved and has kept a large amount of its original features including a huge gate house and its outer walls with castellated corner towers and battlements. The remains of the 13th century hall can also still be seen. Facilities King Johns Castle is a very popular tourist attraction in Limerick. It offers the possibility to see over 800 years of history in one place. The castle has an exhibition of armoury and something which is especially popular; the medieval garrison and soldiers quarters which can be seen from the courtyard. There are battlement walks and pre-Norman houses along with the opportunity to take home a special coin minted at the castle's own mint. During the construction of the visitor centre workers on the site uncovered the remains of a Viking settlement which is also a very popular part of the castle to visit. The castle is open all year (except Christmas) between 10am and 5pm. The castle was built around 1197 under the orders of King John following the invasion of the Anglo-Normans. It was built on the site of an original Viking settlement believed to date back to 922 AD. In 1642 the castle was occupied by people escaping the confederate wars and was badly damaged in the Siege of Limerick. The confederate leader Garret Barry had no artillery so dug under the foundations of the castle's walls, causing them to collapse. There was also considerable damage caused during the Williamite sieges in the 1690's and so the castle has been repaired and restored on a number of occasions. In 1791 the British Army built military barracks suitable for up to 400 soldiers at the castle and remained there until 1922. In 1935 the Limerick Corporation removed some of the castle walls in order to erect 22 houses in the courtyard. These houses were subsequently demolished in 1989 when the castle was restored and opened to the public.
King Johns Castle, Kilmallock
County Limerick • Historic Places
King John's Castle is a prominent landmark at the north western end of the Sarsfield Street in the town of Kilmallock, County Limerick The castle is a four storey tower that may have been part of the northern gate entrance to the town at one time. It is sixty feet high with battlements, and two wide arched openings at ground level. There is a public passage through an opening of the basement. King John's Castle was built in the 15th Century, and is a good example of a 'Peel' Tower. It was granted to Henry Billingsley in 1588, and Thomas Browne in 1604. In 1645 it was used as an arsenal by Lord Castlehaven's troops in the war with Oliver Cromwell, and then was subsequently used as a military hospital in 1651. The tower was renovated in the 19th century with the addition of larger windows and was used for a time as a blacksmith's forge.
Matrix Castle
County Limerick • V94 E624 • Historic Places
Matrix Castle near Rathkeale in County Limerick is a fifteenth-century FitzGerald Desmond tower house distinguished by a remarkable library and collections assembled by the twentieth-century American scholar Sean O'Driscoll, who restored the ruin into a fully habitable private house. The castle is noted in literary history as the site where Edmund Spenser met Walter Raleigh in 1580 and reportedly composed part of The Faerie Queene. It also holds what is claimed to be the most complete archive relating to the Wild Geese, the Irish soldiers who served in European armies after the Flight of the Earls in 1607. Open by appointment, Castle Matrix offers one of the most personal and scholarly castle experiences in Ireland.
Shanid Castle
County Limerick • V94 XY04 • Historic Places
Shanid Castle near Shanagolden in County Limerick is a ruined motte-and-bailey castle that was the original seat of the FitzGerald earls of Desmond, one of the most powerful Anglo-Norman dynasties in medieval Munster. The battle cry of the Desmonds was Shanid Abú, meaning Shanid forever, indicating the symbolic importance of this hilltop site to the family. The circular earthwork motte rises to a considerable height above the flat pastoral landscape with a later masonry tower on its summit, demonstrating the typical progression from earthwork to stone castle construction. The castle commands extensive views across the flat landscape toward the Shannon estuary and the hills of Clare.
Back to interactive map