Showing up to 15 places from this collection.
Ashford CastleCounty Mayo • F31 XR57 • Historic Places
Ashford Castle can be found 45 miles north of Galway on the west coast of Ireland. It is positioned on an isthmus between Lough Corrib and Lough Mask and is surrounded by 350 acres of parkland.
The entrance to the castle is over a stone bridge protected by turrets at either side. The castle itself is of grey stone and is a combination of a Norman castle and French chateau, all totally renovated. Its formal and walled gardens stretch out towards the loughs on either side.
Facilities
Ashford Castle has been used as a high class hotel since 1939 and today is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World group. It offers fishing and lake cruises along with a falconry school and equestrian centre. The hotel also has its own 9 hole golf course and a health and beauty centre.
It can accommodate 150 guests in its 83 rooms which are all individually designed with period furniture and unique views over the countryside. There are three dining rooms each with its own theme and traditional evening entertainment of music and storytelling is provided in the Dungeon.
The castle has an experienced team who individually tailor wedding packages for both intimate and large scale weddings; it is even possible to have exclusive use of the castle over the weekend.
The Norman castle dates back to 1228 when it was founded by the de Burgo family, they were defeated in a battle in 1589 and lost their home to Lord Ingham governor of Connaught.
It was transformed in 1715 by the Oranmore and Browne family with the addition of a French style chateau and in 1852 it's owner Sir Benjamin Guinness (of the brewing family) extended the estate to 26,000 acres planting trees and adding a further two Victorian extensions. During this time George V, Prince of Wales and many other important guests stayed with the Guiness family. In the 19th century Arthur Guinness incorporated both the castle and the chateau into the one large building it is today.
From 1939 onwards Ashford Castle has also welcomed many famous guests amongst them the then president of America Ronald Regan.
The Arts
The 1950's film 'The Quiet Man' by John Ford was filmed in Cong and there are nightly showings at the castle.
CastleburkeCounty Mayo • F31 E283 • Historic Places
Castleburke is a ruined tower house near Ballintober in County Mayo, associated with the Burke family, descendants of the Anglo-Norman de Burgh dynasty who became thoroughly Gaelicised over the medieval centuries and controlled extensive territories in Mayo and Galway. Nearby Ballintober Abbey, founded by Cathal O'Conor King of Connacht in 1216, is the only church in Ireland where Mass has been celebrated continuously for over 800 years. The ancient Pilgrim's Path from Ballintober to Croagh Patrick, Ireland's most sacred mountain, passes close to the castle site in a landscape of exceptional historical and spiritual significance.
Rockfleet CastleCounty Mayo • Historic Places
Rockfleet Castle; or Carraigahowley Castle as it was sometimes known, is situated at the mouth of a small inlet on the northern shores of Clew Bay, 5 miles from Newport on the north west coast of Ireland.
The castle is a small square defensive tower house, built over 4 floors and over 60 feet in height. The site consists of a tower house with a rectangular corner parapet set in open ground. The top floor is reached by a spiral staircase made of stone and is the only room with a fireplace. The castle was built in a medieval style and is one of five along the shores of Clew Bay.
Facilities
Rockfleet Castle is open to the public during the summer, it also possible to take a trip into the bay by fishing boat from the nearby pier. From the sea you can see how well the castle was placed to keep watch over the bay
The castle was built in the mid 16th Century and home to Grace O'Malley the 'Pirate Queen' and her husband Richard Burke 'Richard of Iron' from 1566. Grace was the leader of the O'Malley clan and controlled much of the west coast in the late 1500's. She had a fleet of 20 ships moored at Rockfleet which she used to raid cargo ships along the channel and was also responsible for capturing some of the dispersed ships from the Spanish Armada.
She remained at RockfleetCastle after the death of her husband in 1583 but it was not long afterwards that the English successfully captured some of the O'Malley fleet along with Grace's brother. Grace appealed directly to Queen Elizabeth for his release and negotiated that she would forfeit her ships in return for her brother. The Queen granted Grace what she had asked for and allowed her to keep her vessels on the condition that she fought with, rather than against the English, which she did until her death in 1603 when she was buried on Clare Island nearby.
Following the Civil War Sir Owen O'Malley a diplomat and descendent of Grace restored the castle and lived nearby in a Georgian house. The latest owner is the former American ambassador to Ireland.
Westport HouseCounty Mayo • F28 E0A5 • Historic Places
Located to the west of Shannon, Westport House overlooks Ireland's holy Croagh Patrick mountain, Clare Island and out over Clew Bay to the Atlantic Ocean beyond.
The limestone house is built over three floors on an estate with formal gardens, terraces a lake and parkland, the estate also has the remains of an old boathouse open to the sea.
The interior is particularly fine with intricate ceilings and Jamaican mahogany doors.
Facilities
Westport House is considered one of the most beautiful historic houses in Ireland and is open to the public between May and October, 10am and 5.30pm daily (Sundays and Bank Holidays only in May)
The house and estate offers something for every visitor, from the beautiful rooms on show within the house to a family playground and even a campsite in the woodland.
Inside the house some of the rooms display a selection of their original contents including portraits and landscapes, a collection of silver, Waterford glass and historic Irish books in the library. Visitors also have the opportunity to visit part of the original castle belonging to Grace O'Malley which is now in the basement or the dungeons as they are known.
In the grounds families can enjoy the Pirate's Den an adventure playground with log flume, pirate ship, mini railway and an indoor soft play area. The house also has its own bar and cafe in the old farmyard named after the pirate queen it is the venue for live music most weekends.
Westport House also hosts wedding receptions. Champagne receptions start in the entrance hall with its sweeping staircase and the drawing room or the long gallery; seating up to 90 guests, being used for dining. For those with a larger amount of guests a grand marquee is set up on the lawns.
The house was built on the site of an original castle belonging to Grace O'Malley, the 'Pirate Queen'. The original eastern façade was designed by Richard Cassels a famous German architect in 1730 for Colonel John Browne, the husband of Maude Burke, the great great granddaughter of Grace O'Malley.
During the Williamite wars much of the estate was confiscated and when Colonel Browne died his grandson; also called John and later becoming 1st Earl of Altamont, inherited an estate of just a few hundred acres.
The estate was improved by succeeding generations who now also had the title of Marquees of Sligo, creating a lake and planting trees as well as employing James Wyatt to build a further three facades and two wings and decorate the gallery and dining room. In 1845 during the famine the estate closed and the 3rd Marquess was forced to borrow and use his saving to help his tenants for which he was awarded the Order of St Patrick.
In 1960 the 10th Marquess and his family opened the house and grounds to the public for the first time and since then it has been developed as a major tourist attraction with current occupant being Jeremy Browne, 11th Marquess of Sligo and his family.
The Arts
Outdoor family theatre productions are held in the grounds during the summer.