Showing up to 15 places from this collection.
Appleby CastleCumbria • CA16 6XH • Historic Places
Appleby Castle is located in the town of Appleby-in-Westmorland in Cumbria, The castle overlooks the River Eden. The castle grounds has a 12th century square keep known as Caesar's tower, and a mansion house and ancillary buildings in a courtyard surrounded by curtain walls. Caesar's tower is about 80 feet high with four storeys. The mansion house is L-shaped with two wings at right angles to each other. There is a semi-circular tower on the north wall of the north wing and a large square tower is at the southern end of the east wing. The gateway to the castle courtyard and two adjoining cottages are listed Grade I. The gateway has battlements and dates from around the 17th century. Both Caesar's tower and the mansion are Grade I listed buildings. Appleby Castle is a private residence and is not open to the public.
The keep known as Caesar's Tower was built about 1170. The castle was captured by the Scottish King, William the Lion, when his army invaded the Eden Valley in 1174. The English regained the castle and in 1203 it was granted to Richard de Vipont by King John. In 1269, ownership went to Roger de Clifford and it remained in the Clifford family for nearly 400 years. The eastern part of what is now the mansion house was built in 1454. In the 17th century, the castle passed to the Earls of Thanet. They converted the eastern block into a mansion house in 1686, and extended it by adding the north wing in 1695. The upper storeys of Caesar's tower were modified in the 17th and 18th centuries. A north lodge with battlements was added in the 19th century.
Brough CastleCumbria • CA17 4EJ • Historic Places
Brough Castle is located in the village of Brough, Cumbria, England. The motte and bailey castle was built on the site of a former Roman fort. The Castle is now in ruins. There is the remains of a gatehouse, once three storeys high. There is some sandstone paving in the courtyard, and the remains of stables. The ruined keep used to have four corner turrets, the basement was a storehouse and still has some plaster on the walls. The upper floors and stairs of the keep have gone. The remains of a brewhouse, bakehouse, and kitchen can be seen in a corner of the courtyard. There was an inner and outer range of buildings in the southeast corner. There is also a circular tower in the south east corner, known as Clifford's Tower that contained Lady Anne Clifford's chambers. The castle is open to the public, and there are information panels explaining the layout of the site.
Brough Castle was built by William Rufus in the 1090s as a stone motte and bailey castle. It was one of the first stone castles to be built in Britain. The stonework of the walls show a herringbone pattern common in Norman architecture. Brough Castle was captured and burned down in 1174 by the Scottish king William the Lion during he Revolt of 1173-1174. All that was left was the base of the keep. The keep was rebuilt in the 1180s by Theobald de Valoignes. King John gave the castle to Robert of Vieuxpont in 1203.
In the 1268 the castle passed to the Clifford family, the barons de Clifford, who also owned Brougham Castle. Robert Clifford extended the castle building a circular tower at the south east corner, known as Clifford's Tower, around 1300. The Cliffords also added a new upper hall and associated chambers around 1350. The Cliffords lived at Brough Castle until 1521, when fire destroyed the castle. After lying abandoned for about 140 years, Lady Anne Clifford began to restore the castle in 1659. After her death in 1676 the castle was left uninhabited, and passed to the Earls of Thanet, who lived at Appleby Castle in Appleby-in-Westmorland. Brough castle began to decline and the roof and fittings was removed in 1715. Much of the stone was taken for building Brough mill in 1763. The castle came under the protection of the Ministry of Works in 1920. It is now cared for by English Heritage.
Brougham CastleCumbria • CA10 2AA • Historic Places
Brougham Castle stands at the confluence of the rivers Eamont and Lowther in Cumbria near the market town of Penrith, a substantial Norman and medieval fortress whose ruins retain considerable height and architectural detail and provide an important and atmospheric insight into the military history of the northern Marches and the route between England and Scotland that passed through this river crossing. The castle was first built by Robert de Vieuxpont in the early thirteenth century using the strategic position at the river confluence to control movement through the Eden valley, a function that had been performed by a Roman fort on the same site many centuries earlier.
The castle passed through various hands before coming into the possession of the Clifford family, who became the most significant owners in its history. The Cliffords were one of the most powerful baronial families of the north of England during the medieval period, and their ownership of Brougham, Brough, Appleby and Skipton castles gave them control over the approaches to the Lake District and the Eden valley throughout the later Middle Ages. Lady Anne Clifford, who recovered her family's hereditary estates in the 1640s after a long legal battle and spent the remainder of her long life restoring and occupying the Clifford castles, made extensive repairs to Brougham in the 1660s. The Roman tower that survives within the castle enclosure is largely her work.
Lady Anne Clifford is one of the most remarkable figures in seventeenth-century English history, a woman whose determination to recover and maintain her inheritance in the face of sustained legal opposition, and whose lifelong investment in restoring and inhabiting the ancient Clifford castles, represents an extraordinary assertion of identity and continuity. Her diary and her Great Picture recording her life and family history are among the most significant personal documents of the period.
The castle is managed by English Heritage and the ruins of the great tower, the gatehouse and the inner ward are open to visitors throughout the year.
Carlisle CastleCumbria • CA3 8UR • Historic Places
Carlisle Castle is situated in the city of Carlisle in Cumbria, England. The oldest surviving building is the large 12th century keep located at the north east corner of the inner courtyard. The keep used to be the Royal Palace of David I. On the first floor of the keep is the 'licking stones'. Prisoners captured during the Jacobite uprising were kept without water and used to lick the stones to get enough moisture to survive. Other buildings in the courtyard include the inner Gatehouse (known as the Captain's Tower). There ruins of the royal apartments, the chapel, the Great Hall, and the ruins of Queen Mary's Tower in the north east corner where Mary Queen of Scots was imprisoned. The tower is one of the oldest buildings of the castle. The Museum of the King's Own Border Regiment is also in the courtyard. There castle has a gift shop that sells medieval souvenirs. The castle is now managed by English Heritage.
Carlisle Castle is situated near the border between England and Scotland, and has been the a centre of numerous battles and sieges. many wars and invasions. The castle was first built during the late 11th century during the reign of William II of England, the son of William the Conqueror. Carlisle Castle was built as a Norman style motte and bailey castle on the site of an old Roman fort with construction beginning in 1093. In 1122, Henry I of England ordered a stone castle to be constructed on the site, and a stone keep and defensive walls were built. Carlisle Castle changed hands between the Scots and English a number of times. King David of Scotland captured the castle in 1135 and completed the walls and stone keep. The English recaptured it a few years later.
Mary, Queen of Scots was imprisoned within the castle for a few months in 1568. During the English Civil War, the castle was besieged by Parliamentary forces for eight months in 1644.
During the Jacobite rebellion against George II in 1745, forces of Prince Charles Edward Stuart (Bonnie Prince Charlie) travelled south from Scotland into England as far south as Derby. The most important battles for the city of Carlisle and its castle were during the second Jacobite rising of Great Britain in 1745. Carlisle Castle was captured and fortified by the Jacobites. They were driven out by the forces of the William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland, the son of George II. The Jacobites were imprisoned in the castle and then executed. After the Union of the Crowns of England and Scotland, there was no further military need for Carlisle Castle and the castle fell into disrepair. Some parts of the castle were demolished in the 19th Century. The army subsequently used the castle as the regimental depot of the King's Own Royal Border Regiment until 1959. It is now county headquarters to the Duke of Lancasters Regiment and a museum to the regiment is within the castle walls.
Pendragon CastleCumbria • CA174JT • Historic Places
Pendragon Castle is reputed to have been founded by Uther Pendragon, the father of King Arthur. According to legend, Uther Pendragon and a hundred of his men were killed here when the Saxon invaders poisoned the well. There are also claims that the Romans built at least a temporary fort here, along the road between their forts at Brough and Bainbridge. But (apart from legend and supposition), there is no real evidence that there was any building here before the Normans built their castle in the 12th Century.
The castle was built next to the River Eden in the Vale of Mallerstang in the late 12th century, probably by Hugh de Morville. Like the nearby castles of Appleby and Brough, Pendragon came into the possession of the Clifford family. It was abandoned after a raiding Scottish army set fire to the castle in 1341, but was rebuilt in 1360. It was left in ruins by another fire in 1541, but was restored in the mid 17th century by Lady Anne Clifford. The castle gradually fell back into ruin after her death – and now remains a romantic ruin, set in glorious scenery.
NOTE: Pendragon castle is on private land. Access is permitted, but care must be taken – it is in a potentially dangerous condition despite some recent restoration.
Penrith CastleCumbria • CA11 7EG • Historic Places
Penrith Castle is a ruined fourteenth and fifteenth-century castle in Penrith in Cumbria, built to defend the town against Scottish raids in the period of persistent Border warfare following the Wars of Independence. The castle was developed over several phases from 1399 onward and was associated with Richard, Duke of Gloucester, later King Richard III, who held the castle as Warden of the Western Marches. The substantial ruins include the remains of the main tower and curtain walls and are set within a public park in the centre of Penrith, providing a freely accessible heritage site within the town. Penrith is an attractive market town on the eastern edge of the Lake District and the M6 motorway corridor, serving as a gateway to the northern Lakes for visitors travelling from the north and east.
Piel CastleCumbria • LA13 0QN • Historic Places
Piel Castle from the road which runs down the eastern side of the south of Walney Island. This photo was taken from near Scar End Point looking eastwards at the keep of the castle.
The gatehouse to the inner bailey at Piel Castle, with the keep visible behind it.
Piel Island and Castle