TravelPOI

Historic Places in Devon and Cornwall

Explore Historic Places in Devon and Cornwall with maps and reviews on TravelPOI.

Top places
Showing up to 15 places from this collection.
Bampton Castle
Devon and Cornwall • GL2 2FJ • Historic Places
Bampton Castle, a motte and bailey castle, used to be located in the village of Bampton, Devon. The stonework has all been removed and all that remains is the motte, which can be seen as a grassy mound in Bampton village. The Normans built a wooden castle on a defensive mound (or motte) in about 1067. In 1136 it was besieged by King Stephen and the wooden castle was burnt down. A stone mansion was built on the motte in the early 14th century. In 1336 the Lord of the Manor, Richard Cogan castellated it and built a surrounding stone and mortar wall. The castle fell into disrepair in the 17th century. (It is thought that part of it fell down during an earthquake in 1607).
Berry Pomeroy Castle
Devon and Cornwall • TQ9 6LJ • Historic Places
Berry Pomeroy Castle is located about a mile north-east of the village of Berry Pomeroy, near Totnes, Devon, England. It is situated on a limestone outcrop overlooking the valley of the Gatcombe Brook. Berry Pomeroy consists of a Tudor mansion within the walls of an earlier castle. Today the castle is administered by English Heritage, although still owned by the Duke of Somerset. It is a grade I listed building. The castle is accessed via a wooded drive. The original drive is visible as an earthwork in the adjacent woods. The main carpark is in a quarry where slate used for the building was excavated. The oldest parts of the castle that can still be seen are the gatehouse, remains of the curtain walls and St Margaret's Tower on the east corner. The original castle had a dry moat, gatehouse and ramparts surmounted by a curtain wall with buildings around the inside of the wall. The gatehouse to the south has a round-arched gateway with semi-hexagonal towers on either side connected by a flattened arch on corbels. There is a guardroom above the gateway with octagonal piers and chamfered arches. The curtain walls are connected to the St Margaret's Tower to the east. There is a group of tall piers on the north side which are probably the remains of the north wing or hall of the Seymour mansion house which is situated on the north east side of the enclosure. The Seymour mansion house is a three storey building built around a small courtyard. Berry Pomeroy Castle was built in the 15th-century by the Pomeroy family. In 1547 Edward Seymour, 1st Duke of Somerset bought the castle from Sir Thomas Pomeroy. He was beheaded for treason in 1552, and the castle was forfeit to the Crown. In 1558, his son Edward, Lord Seymour gained title to the castle. He built a three storey Tudor mansion house at the north end of the courtyard between 1560 and 1580. After his death in 1593 his son, also Edward, added the North Range to the castle in about 1600. During the Civil War, the Seymours sided with the Royalists, and the castle was attacked by Parliamentarians. The Seymour estates were sequestered by Cromwell, but they were allowed to stay at the castle. By the end of the 17th century, Berry Pomeroy Castle was in ruins. Legends Berry Pomeroy Castle has its share of ghostl stories. The White Lady haunts the dungeons, and rises from St Margaret's Tower to the castle ramparts. She is said to be the spirit of Margaret Pomeroy, who was imprisoned in the dungeons by her sister Eleanor. Margaret was left to starve to death in the dungeons. Another ghost is The Blue Lady who is supposed to lure people into parts of the ruin. She is said to be the ghost of the daughter of one of the Norman Lords of the castle who was abused by her father.
Castle Drogo
Devon and Cornwall • EX6 6PB • Historic Places
Castle Drogo is located near Drewsteignton, Devon, England. It stands above the Teign Gorge with views over Dartmoor. Castle Drogo was the last castle to be built in England The castle is built entirely of granite. The castle was designed by architect Sir Edward Lutyens and features battlements, a fortified entrance tower, and a portcullis to create a medieval appearance. The castle is essentially a stately home with a blend of styles from the medieval and Tudor periods. The castle was never intended as a military structure and the defensive features are decorative. The castle has a formal garden, also designed by Lutyens, noted for its rhododendrons and magnolias, herbaceous borders, rose garden, shrub garden and circular croquet lawn. The castle also has a shop, visitor centre and tea-room. It was built as a country house for Julius Drewe (the founder of Home and Colonial Stores) in the 1910s and 1920s. The property was given to the National Trust in 1974. It is a Grade I listed building.
Dartmouth Castle
Devon and Cornwall • TQ6 0JN • Historic Places
Dartmouth Castle hangs on a cliff edge at the narrow entrance of the Dart Estuary in Devon on the south west coast of England. Surrounded by trees and adjacent to St Petroc's church, the small limestone and slate coastal fort, or fortalice, consists of two towers, one round, one square, built over four floors and linked together at the top. Gun platforms protrude at either side of the towers and sections of a curtain wall are still visible at ground level. The square tower has carved gun ports on the seaward facing side and the round tower low gun ports, musket slits and a basement for defensive weapons. The entrance to the restored castle is on the ground floor of the square tower where visitors can see the openings made especially to accommodate hand guns. Facilities As well as visiting the castle, visitors can view items on display at the 'Victorian Gun Battery' Exhibition, enjoy the small riverside gardens or visit the gift shop, there are also refreshments available. The castle and grounds are open every day (except Christmas) from 10am with closing times changing depending on the season. An unusual way to arrive or depart from the castle is to take a river boat from the town's quay and then a minute's walk to the castle entrance. The fort was built in 1388 for John Hawley. The gun tower was added between 1481 and 1495 and the open air gun platforms being added in the 16th century by Henry VIII. The castle was taken by the Royalists after a month of battle during the Civil War. They added an earthwork fort to protect the landward side and held the castle for three years until it was attacked by the Parliamentarians under the command of Sir Thomas Fairfax in 1646. The castle was also used during both the First and Second World Wars and is now under the care of English Heritage. It is classed as the earliest surviving coastal gun tower fortress specifically to carry 'ship sinking' heavy cannon in England. The Arts John Hawley, the castle first owner and mayor of Dartmouth was alleged to be the inspiration for the 'Shipman' in Chaucer's Canterbury tales.
Kingswear Castle
Devon and Cornwall • TQ6 0BT • Historic Places
Kingswear Castle is a fifteenth-century artillery blockhouse on the eastern bank of the Dart estuary opposite Dartmouth, built in the 1490s as the twin of Dartmouth Castle across the river to control entry to the harbour. The two castles could be connected by a chain stretched across the river mouth to prevent hostile vessels from entering, forming one of the most effective harbour defences in southwest England. The castle is operated by the Landmark Trust and is available as self-catering holiday accommodation, providing the unusual opportunity to stay within an intact medieval coastal fortification with spectacular views over the Dart estuary, Dartmouth town and the Devon coastline. The estuary setting and the historic association with the twin castle at Dartmouth make Kingswear a distinctive and atmospheric heritage accommodation experience in one of the most beautiful estuaries in Devon.
Launceston Castle
Devon and Cornwall • PL15 8FN • Historic Places
Launceston Castle stands on a prominent hilltop in the centre of Launceston in north Cornwall, its circular keep and defensive walls providing sweeping views across the surrounding countryside and the Tamar Valley marking the boundary with Devon. For much of the medieval period Launceston served as the effective capital of Cornwall, and the castle was the administrative and judicial centre from which the Earldom and later the Duchy of Cornwall was governed. The castle began as an earth motte and bailey fortification built shortly after the Norman Conquest by Robert of Mortain, William the Conqueror's half-brother who was granted the Earldom of Cornwall. The distinctive round keep that rises from the top of the motte was added in the thirteenth century and is unusual in having a circular shell keep surrounding a further circular tower built within it, creating a double-cylindrical arrangement that is almost unique in English castle architecture. The resulting structure, though small in comparison to some of the great English castles, is exceptionally well preserved and retains most of its thirteenth-century fabric. The castle served as the main prison for Cornwall throughout the medieval and later periods, and its judicial history includes several grim episodes. George Fox, the founder of the Quaker movement, was imprisoned here in 1656 for blasphemy and later wrote a powerful account of the conditions he experienced. The castle continued as a gaol until the early nineteenth century when a new County Gaol was built in the town. The steep motte provides the principal attraction for most visitors: climbing to the keep allows the panoramic views that made this site so strategically valuable in the first place. On clear days the view extends north to Bodmin Moor, east across the Tamar to the Devon hills and south toward the Cornish coast. The town below preserves several other medieval features including the remarkable carved stonework of the town gate, considered some of the finest decorative Norman carving in southwest England. The castle is managed by English Heritage and a modest admission fee applies. Launceston town itself is worth exploring for its independent shops, Georgian architecture and the Launceston Steam Railway, a narrow-gauge heritage line that operates through the scenic Kensey Valley.
Lydford Castle
Devon and Cornwall • EX20 4BH • Historic Places
Lydford Castle near the village of Lydford in Devon is a twelfth-century tower castle that served as a prison and stannary court for the Devon tin-mining industry, one of the most feared and notorious places of incarceration in medieval England. The tower was built in 1195 as a fortified prison rather than a royal residence, and the harsh conditions and arbitrary justice dispensed here were so notorious that a popular contemporary rhyme spoke of Lydford Law, in which men were hanged first and judged afterwards. The tower is managed by English Heritage and freely accessible, set in the attractive village of Lydford on the western edge of Dartmoor. The village also contains the spectacular Lydford Gorge, managed by the National Trust, where the River Lyd has carved a dramatic narrow gorge with waterfalls and rock pools that provides one of the finest short walks in Devon.
Okehampton Castle
Devon and Cornwall • EX20 1JA • Historic Places
Okehampton Castle is situated 1 mile from the town centre of Okehampton, 22 miles west of Exeter in the south west of England. Situated on a wooded spur overlooking the Okement river, Okehampton Castle is the remains of Devon's largest Castle. The castle's two storey rectangular keep is accessed through firstly an inner and then an outer gatehouse which are linked together by a narrow barbican passage. Once inside the bailey there are the remains of a chapel, hall, living accommodation and kitchens. Facilities The castle is open to the public daily from 10am between April and September, and as well as visiting the ruins visitors can take a walk long the river bank and enjoy a picnic. Hot and cold drinks and snacks can be purchased at the ticket kiosk. At the time of the Doomsday Book in 1086 the castle was owned by the Sheriff of Devon, Baldwin de Brionne. Very little is written of the history of the castle, but it is known that in the 14th century the keep, curtain wall and most the luxurious residential accommodations were built by the Marquees of Exeter, Henry Courtenay, and he lived there until he was found guilty conspiracy against Henry VIII in 1539 and was executed. The castle was then partly demolished and left to become a ruin. The Arts Due its beautiful appearance, even as a ruin, the castle was twice painted by the English Romantic landscape painter J.M.W Tuner.
Pendennis Castle
Devon and Cornwall • TR114NQ • Historic Places
Set on headland 1 mile from Falmouth on the south west coast of England, Pendennis Castle's location ensures wonderful views over the Fal estuary out towards Falmouth itself. The stout well restored castle, built over two floors, consists of a round tower enclosed by a curtain wall with access via a small bridge and attached gatehouse. Facilities The castle was awarded a silver award in the category of small visitor attraction in the Cornwall Tourism Awards in 2009 and even though it is small there are lots of things to see and do on a visit here with interactive displays, exhibitions and guided tours. The castle's keep and artillery barracks house an interactive exhibition and introduction to the castle from Tudor times with the gun deck right up to the Second World War. There are also the guardhouse cells and the WWII observation post with its re-creation of an enemy attack, garrison barracks with its family friendly displays and the rock tunnels which lead to the 'Half Moon Gun Battery' and where the Noon Day Gun is fired in July and August. For a visit to the Half Moon Magazine, the storeroom which housed the shells and cartridges for the guns visitors need to take a guided tour; reservations required one month in advance. The tour includes audio re-enactment and entry into a very dark tunnel with an uneven tunnel floor, so is not suitable for children or those with limited mobility. The castle is open daily from 10am year round. As well as a tourist attraction the castle is also used as a wedding and reception venue for up to 160 guests; 100 for the ceremony itself. Ceremonies take place inside the keep where the wall are decorated with tapestries and candlelight adds to the atmosphere and afterwards guests stroll across the grounds to the barracks to enjoy dinner and dancing. The castle was built by Henry VIII in 1540 as one in a chain of castles along the coast to protect against the French and Spanish invasions. The castle was adapted many times firstly when a defensive rampart was added in 1598 and further strengthened prior the Civil War. The castle was under siege for five months and was one of the last Royalist garrisons to surrender. The final battles at the castle were during both the First and Second World Wars and now the castle is under the care of English Heritage.
Powderham Castle
Devon and Cornwall • EX6 8JQ • Historic Places
Only 7 miles from Exeter, Powderham Castle is set beside the Exe estuary in the middle of a deer park. The castle is a mixture of styles comprising mainly of Georgian, Victorian and Gothic, with the east and west battlemented towers being the oldest parts dating back to the 14th century. Powderham Castle is still used as a family home it has been renovated and both the castle and the gardens are well kept. Within the castle grounds are a gatehouse and chapel; also dating back to the 14th century. Facilities The castle is open from 11am between Sunday and Friday from April until October. Visitors can discover the estate and castle either alone or with the help of a guided tour. Tours of the house are given by experienced guides and cover some of the stories of the people who occupied the house, the architecture and the history. There is also a tour of the Deer Park and gardens where visitors can meet the castles pets, find the 'secret garden' and visit the Courtenay Fort an adventure castle. As well as a tourist attraction the castle hosts wedding receptions in the music room, dining room or library, accommodating up to 170 guests or for a truly large affair a marquee can be erected in the Deer Park. The castle was founded by Sir Philip Courtenay between 1390 and 1420 and remains with the Earl of Devon, one of his direct descendents. It was built as a quadrangular fortress. The castle survived despite a great deal of damage which it sustained during the Civil War and in 1646 when it was taken by the roundheads. The castle was subsequently remodeled in both the 18th and 19th centuries by the architect James Wyatt. Today's castle is the home of the 18th Earl of Devon who lives in private quarters within the castle. The Arts The castle was used as a location for the film 'The Remains Of The Day' in 1993 and the comedy 'Churchill; The Hollywood Years' in 2004. During the summer the castle has also hosted concerts which in 2008 included names from the 1980's such as Midge Ure, Banarama, Rick Astley, Heaven17, Nick Heyward and guest star Katie Melua.
Restormel Castle
Devon and Cornwall • PL22 0EE • Historic Places
Restormel Castle is built on a spur; or lateral ridge projecting from the hillside, overlooking the River Fowey, one mile from the medieval town of Lostwithel The castle is a huge circular shell keep with walls 8 feet thick and 25 feet tall, surrounded by a deep ditch. Adjoining the walls are the remains of buildings including living quarters, a great hall and kitchens which are in a good state of repair. Facilities The castle is open to visitors daily between 10am and 5pm, April and September, until 6pm in July and August and until 4pm in October and November. Entry to the castle sit is through an area used to graze stock so appropriate footwear is advised. Visitors to the site can climb the cobbled battlements which are reached by a wooden staircase as well a visit the Restormel Castle shop or buy refreshments from a snack kiosk. If you bring a picnic there are some spots with breathtaking views in which to enjoy a leisurely summer's afternoon. The original motte and bailey castle was built in 1100 and owned by the Cardinham family; it was considered one of the finest military castles in England. The wooden elements of the castle were replaced by stone in the 13th century and in 1264 Richard of Cornwall; Henry III's brother; and afterwards his son Edmund, held the castle until 1300. In 1337 the keep was restored and made into a luxury residence and castle was given to the 1st Duke of Cornwall to became part of the Duchy of Cornwall's Estate, an thereafter property the Prince of Wales. Although a fine example of a military castle it saw very little fighting, it was only during the civil war that it saw action when the parliamentarian forces were driven out. Although part of the Duchy's estate, the castle fell into ruins and by the 18th century was covered in ivy and hidden by woodland. It was not until 1925 when English Heritage took over the running of the site that the castle was uncovered once more.
St Mawes Castle
Devon and Cornwall • TR2 3AA • Historic Places
St Mawes Castle is situated in the small fishing village of the same name on a hillside overlooking the estuary of the River Fal, 16 miles from Falmouth by car, but only a short journey across the estuary by boat. The castle is a four storey coastal fortress surrounded by a curtain wall and ditch. Inside the wall is the main central circular tower connected to three lower semi circular bastions; viewed from above it has the appearance of a clover leaf. The interior is very well preserved; visitors access the castle via a bridge onto the third floor where it is still possible to see stone carvings in Latin praising Henry VIII and Edward VI. Facilities The castle is open to visitors daily between April and November from 10am and from Friday to Monday between November and March. As well as admiring the stone carvings inside the castle, visitors can see the original cannon ball that was fired from the castle during the Civil War; this was the only shot that was fired. The castle also has its own gift shop selling souvenir guides and for visitors who bring their own picnic there are spots with views across the estuary towards Falmouth and the boats in the harbor of St Mawes The castle is also a licensed venue for wedding ceremonies and receptions for up to 150 guests in the keep overlooking the sea and gardens. St Mawes Castle was built as one of a chain of fortresses along the Cornish coastline between 1539 and 1545 for Henry VIII as protection against French and Spanish invaders. The design was such that heavy cannon could be mounted on the roof of the tower and bastions to protect against attack from the sea, unfortunately the castles position on the side of the hill made it vulnerable to attack from above. During the Civil War in 1646 the castle was surrendered without being attacked as the governor knew that it was impossible to defend the castle from an attack. The castle still continued to be used as a gun placement to protect Falmouth harbor until the end of the Second World War and is now in the care of English Heritage.
Tintagel Castle
Devon and Cornwall • PL34 0HE • Historic Places
Tintagel Castle on the north Cornish coast clings to a dramatic promontory and island of dark Devonian slate connected to the mainland by a narrow rock bridge, its ruins combining the genuine historical interest of a thirteenth-century Cornish royal castle with the powerful legendary associations with King Arthur and the Matter of Britain that have made this one of the most evocative and most visited heritage sites in the southwest. The combination of the extraordinary coastal setting, the castle ruins and the Arthurian tradition creates an atmosphere unlike any other heritage site in England. The historical castle was built by Richard, Earl of Cornwall, in the 1230s and takes advantage of the extraordinary natural defensibility of the promontory that projects from the cliff face and is connected to the mainland by a rock bridge that can be crossed on foot at all states of the tide. The castle consists of two separate enclosures, one on the mainland and one on the island, connected by the narrow crossing, and the ruins on the island in particular retain considerable height and dramatic quality in their cliff-edge setting. The Arthurian associations of Tintagel were established by Geoffrey of Monmouth in his History of the Kings of Britain of approximately 1138, which identified Tintagel as the place of Arthur's conception by Uther Pendragon and Igraine. This literary association predates the historical castle by a century, suggesting that Geoffrey was drawing on an older tradition associating the promontory with legendary history. The discovery of a significant early medieval settlement on the site, including imported Mediterranean pottery indicating high-status occupation in the fifth and sixth centuries, has given archaeological support to the idea that Tintagel was a place of genuine importance in the period when Arthur is legendarily set. The footbridge installed in 2019 provides direct access between the mainland and island sections without the previous steep climb.
Back to interactive map