TravelPOI

Historic Places in Moray

Explore Historic Places in Moray with maps and reviews on TravelPOI.

Top places
Showing up to 15 places from this collection.
Auchindoun Castle
Moray • AB55 4DR • Historic Places
Auchindoun Castle is situated 2 miles southeast of Dufftown off the A941. Access is by foot up a track. Auchindoun Castle was built in the 15th century in Auchindoun near Dufftown in the Moray region of Scotland, and guards Glen Fiddich. The castle was destroyed by the Clan MacKintosh in 1592. Following the Restoration of Charles II, the castle was awarded to the Marquis of Huntly and rebuilt. By 1725, the castle was derelict and stones from it were used to build local farm buildings and the nearby Balvenie Castle. The original castle had a large central tower and high curtain wall. A second round tower guarded the northwest corner of the compound. Cellars and possibly dungeons were dug directly into the rock beneath the tower. Today much of the curtain wall and some of the outbuildings remain, but the central tower itself is very dilapidated. The ruins are in the care of Historic Scotland, and after recent consolidation works to stablise the ruins, the castle was as re-opened to the public in November 2007.
Ballindalloch Castle
Moray • AB37 9AX • Historic Places
Ballindalloch Castle in Moray is one of the best-known and most beautiful family-owned castles in Scotland, a turreted Z-plan tower house set beside the River Spey that has remained the home of the Macpherson-Grant family for over five centuries. The original tower house dates from around 1546, and over subsequent generations it was extended, remodelled and refined into the elegant and comfortable residence visible today. Unlike the vast majority of Scottish castles, which survive only as atmospheric ruins, Ballindalloch remains a genuinely lived-in historic home, which gives it an atmosphere quite different from purely archaeological or museum sites. The castle's Speyside setting is central to its appeal. The River Spey, one of the great salmon rivers of Scotland, flows through a landscape of wooded riverbanks, fertile agricultural estates and a long cultural association with Highland history, field sports and the whisky industry for which the valley is internationally renowned. The Speyside Malt Whisky Trail passes through the area, and several of the region's most celebrated distilleries are within easy distance of the castle. Ballindalloch sits comfortably within this world, its architecture and grounds having been shaped not only by the security concerns of its earliest phase but by later generations who wanted a refined country residence suitable for family life, hospitality and the management of a substantial Highland estate. The interior of the castle contains a collection of furniture, portraits and objects accumulated across five centuries of continuous family occupation. That depth of continuity matters considerably to the character of the visit. Ballindalloch can be interpreted not just as a defensive building from the sixteenth century but as a living record of family history, changing taste and social adaptation across every generation since. The rooms speak to the gradual transformation of a fortified house into a more comfortable aristocratic residence, while preserving the impression of age and lineage that makes Highland castles so compelling. The surrounding estate features well-maintained gardens, including a walled garden developed over many centuries, and a herd of Aberdeen Angus cattle that represents one of the oldest pure pedigree herds of this famous Scottish breed in existence. The combination of castle, gardens, estate and river setting makes Ballindalloch one of the most rewarding and complete country house experiences available in the Scottish Highlands.
Balvenie Castle
Moray • AB55 4GH • Historic Places
Balvenie Castle is in Glen Fiddich (whisky country) about a mile north of Dufftown. It was built as a heavily fortified castle with thick defensive walls a wide ditch and defensive towers. Under the Stewarts in the 16th century elegant residential living areas were added to the castle. It fell into disrepair in the 18th century. Although in ruins today, you can still see impressive features of the building. It was built in the 1200s and originally owned by the Comyns who were wiped out by Robert the Bruce in his fight for power in Scotland. At some stage in the 1400s the castle was taken over by the Black Douglases who were overthrown by King James II who gave the castle to his own relatives. Mary Queen of Scots visited in 1562. The castle was abandoned in 1720.
Blervie Castle
Moray • IV36 2RU • Historic Places
Blervie Castle is built on a hill about 4 miles south-east of Forres in north east Scotland. The castle was a Z-plan building built by the Dunbar family in the late 16th century. It is now in ruins, and stone from the ruins was used to build Blervie house. A five-story tower from the castle. Near the tower are four large standing stones, believed to be part of an ancient Caledonian stone circle. There used to be an ancient castle on the site believed to have been built around the end of the 14th century.
Brodie Castle
Moray • IV36 2TE • Historic Places
Brodie Castle is located about 5 miles west of Forres in the Moray region of Scotland. The original castle was a z-plan design built in 1567 by Clan Brodie. It was destroyed by fire in 1645, but rebuilt by William Burn in the style of a fortified house. It has a very well preserved central keep with two 5-storey towers on opposite corners. The building is lime-harled with ornate corbelled battlements. The interior of the castle is well preserved, with fine antique furniture, oriental artifacts and painted ceilings. Today the castle and grounds are owned by the National Trust for Scotland and open to tourists throughout the summer months. The castle may be hired for weddings and indoor or outdoor events. An ancient Pictish monument known as Rodney's Stone can be seen in the castle grounds. It was the home of Ninian Brodie of Brodie and family.
Burgie Castle
Moray • IV36 1AB • Historic Places
Burgie Castle is situated about 3 miles east of Forres in Moray. The castle was built by the Dunbars in the 16th century. Burgie was once a Z-plan castle with towers on diagonally opposite corners of a rectangular central keep. The keep is in ruins and only one tower remains. A private trust has been set up to consolidate the building, funded by the Highland Buildings Preservation Trust. Burgie Castle is very similar to nearby Blervie Castle which was also built by the Dunbars in the 16th century.
Drumin Castle
Moray • AB37 9AN • Historic Places
Drumin Castle is a ruined Gordon family tower house in Strathavon near Tomintoul in Moray, standing on a promontory above the confluence of the Rivers Avon and Livet in one of the most scenically spectacular upland areas of northeast Scotland. The Gordon family's dominance of northeast Scotland throughout the medieval and early modern periods is reflected in numerous castles, towers and fortified houses across the region. The castle controlled movement through this mountain glen forming an important route between Strathspey and Deeside. The surrounding area of Strathavon and Glenlivet is famous for the Scotch whisky distilleries producing some of the world's most celebrated single malts, including the Glenlivet itself, the first legal Highland distillery established in 1823.
Duffus Castle
Moray • IV30 5RH • Historic Places
Duffus Castle near Elgin in Moray is a ruined Norman motte-and-bailey castle of the twelfth century, one of the finest examples of a stone-crowned motte castle in Scotland and a property in the care of Historic Environment Scotland. Established by Freskin the Fleming, ancestor of the Murray family, the castle's most dramatically visible feature is the collapsed northwest corner of the later stone tower which has slipped down the side of the motte as the earthwork settled beneath the masonry weight, preserved exactly as it occurred. Freely accessible, the castle provides one of the most vivid and educational castle experiences in northeast Scotland. The surrounding Laich o'Moray, the fertile coastal plain between Elgin and the Moray Firth, is one of the most productive agricultural areas in northeast Scotland, with the cathedral city of Elgin and the Speyside whisky distilleries providing major heritage and tourism attractions nearby.
Spynie Palace
Moray • IV31 6RZ • Historic Places
Spynie Palace is located near Elgin in Moray. The Palace is also known as Spynie Castle - the name Spynie Palace first appeared around 1524. The most distinctive feature of the ruin is David's Tower - the largest tower by volume of all medieval Scottish towers. It is six storeys tall with a vaulted basement and garret. The basement contains a circular dungeon. The ground floor contained the hall with a spiral staircase which led to the upper floors. Spynie Palace is now in the care of Historic Scotland and is open to the public. The original main castle was built in the 14th century as a square structure built within a 7 meter high curtain wall. By 1500, a large new great hall and chamber had been built along the north side of the courtyard, and rectangular towers added to two of the corners. The castle was extended in the late 15th century and early 16th century with the addition of the massive David's Tower along with other accommodation. Bishop John Guthrie, who was a well known royalist, refused to subscribe to the Covenant. Spynie was besieged by the Covenanters in 1640, led by Col. Sir Robert Monro and his 800 men. Bishop Guthrie surrendered the castle and the castle was disarmed. Guthrie was allowed to stay within the castle under house arrest. In September of 1640, Gutherie was imprisoned in Aberdeen. The castle was then granted to the Earl of Moray by King Charles I. The Marquis of Huntly laid siege to the castle in late 1645 leaving Lord Lewis Gordon in charge but the castle held out. Following the restoration of church government to the Scottish Church in 1662 ownership of the castle passed back to the church, but by then it was starting to fall into disrepair. The palace passed into the hands of the Crown and much of the fine iron work and wood carvings were removed. The building decayed as locals removed stones for building works until the early 19th century when the Crown stepped in to protect the ruins.
Back to interactive map