TravelPOI

Best Castle in North East, England - Map and Reviews

Find the best Castle in North East, England with TravelPOI maps, local place details, reviews, directions and curated travel inspiration.

This curated TravelPOI list helps you quickly find relevant places in this location and category. We keep the list concise so you can compare options faster, then open any place for maps, reviews and extra details before you visit.

Top places
Showing up to 15 places from this collection.
Bamburgh CastleBamburgh Castle
North East • NE69 7DF • Castle
Bamburgh Castle is a historic fortress on the Northumberland coast of England, with origins dating back to the 6th century and a rich history spanning Anglo-Saxon kings, Viking raids, Norman conquest, and Victorian restoration. Historical Overview Bamburgh Castle sits atop a basalt crag 150 feet (46 meters) above the North Sea, providing a strategic vantage point over the coastline and nearby islands such as Lindisfarne and the Farne Islands. The site was originally a Celtic Brittonic fort known as Din Guarie and may have served as the capital of the kingdom of Bernicia from around 420 to 547. In 547, King Ida of Bernicia captured the site, establishing a timber stronghold that later evolved into a stone fortress under Norman rule in the 11th century. The castle’s keep, completed in 1164 during the reign of Henry II, remains a central feature. Bamburgh Castle has endured numerous attacks and sieges. It was sacked by Vikings in 993, besieged by Robert de Mowbray in 1095, and became the first English castle to fall to cannon fire during the Wars of the Roses in 1464. It also served as a royal residence for Northumbrian kings and later as a prison, holding King David II of Scotland after the Battle of Neville’s Cross in 1346. By the 18th century, the castle had fallen into disrepair. In 1894, Victorian industrialist William Armstrong purchased and extensively restored the castle, blending medieval and Victorian architectural elements. Today, it remains a private residence of the Armstrong family while being open to the public. Archaeological excavations have uncovered significant Anglo-Saxon artifacts, including the Bamburgh Sword and a gold plaque known as the Bamburgh Beast. The Bowl Hole Cemetery revealed remains of individuals from diverse regions, now housed in St Aidan’s Church crypt. The castle also hosts the Armstrong and Aviation Artefacts Museum, showcasing Victorian engineering and military history. Bamburgh Castle has inspired literature and media, appearing in Bernard Cornwell’s The Saxon Stories, films such as Elizabeth (1998) and Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny (2023), and television series including The Last Kingdom. Its legendary association with Joyous Gard, the mythical home of Sir Lancelot, adds to its cultural allure. Bamburgh Castle remains a symbol of Anglo-Saxon resilience, medieval power, and Victorian restoration, offering visitors a unique glimpse into over 1,400 years of English history.
Newcastle Castle KeepNewcastle Castle Keep
North East • NE1 1RQ • Castle
Newcastle Castle Keep is the magnificent Norman keep that is all that remains of the original castle that gave Newcastle upon Tyne its name, built by Henry II between 1168 and 1178 on the site of an earlier motte-and-bailey castle established by William the Conqueror's son Robert Curthose in 1080. The keep is one of the finest and best-preserved Norman keeps in England, rising to four storeys with elaborate architectural details including the remarkable chapel with its richly carved stonework and the well-lit Great Chamber. The castle is managed by Newcastle City Council and provides exceptional views over the Tyne valley, the medieval bridges and the city from its roof. The castle is a reminder that Newcastle was established as a military stronghold at one of the most strategically important river crossings in northern England.
Prudhoe CastlePrudhoe Castle
North East • NE42 6PW • Castle
Prudhoe Castle is set on a high ridge over looking the River Tyne in the town of Prudhoe, 13 miles west of Newcastle upon Tyne, in the North East of England. The ruins of the castle are reached by a pathway over a tree covered hill and are enclosed by a moat and a curtain wall. The site is also flanked by a watermill and mill pond. Entry to the site is firstly via a barbican and then a gatehouse which opens out into an outer bailey. The outer bailey houses the remains of buildings such as the Great Hall and the Manor House. Enclosed within the castle's inner bailey are the remains of the square keep with walls of 10 feet thick. Facilities The castle is open to visitors from Thursday to Monday between 10am and 5pm from April until September. The Prudhoe Castle experience includes a family friendly exhibition including items found within the site and detailed descriptions of the castle's remains. The Manor House is also where visitors can visit the castle gift shop. The first castle on the site was from the 11th century and was built as a Norman motte and bailey castle. The Baron of Prudhoe, Robert d'Umfraville, took over the castle following the Norman Conquest and in time replaced the wooden structures with more substantial stone ones and added a curtain wall and gatehouse. In 1173 there was an unsuccessful attempt to take the castle by the Scots. Following the attempt the current Baron, Odinel Umfraville, not only increased the castle's garrison, but also improved the defenses by adding a strong keep causing the Scots to fail twice more in their attempts at a siege. Through marriage the castle passed into the Percy family, Dukes of Northumberland, and in 1398 they added a new 'great hall'. The family lost and then gained the castle again during the Wars of the Roses, and finally restored and rented it out until the 1660's when it was left abandoned. It was not until 1808 that the Percy's started to carry out repairs and improvements to the castle; demolishing old buildings and building a Georgian mansion house adjoining the keep. In 1966 English Heritage took over the running of the site although the castle still remains the property of the Duke of Northumberland.
Lumley CastleLumley Castle
North East • DH3 4NX • Castle
Lumley Castle is a 14th century quadrangular castle at Chester-le-Street, near Durham in the north of England. It is owned by the Earl of Scarbrough. In 1976, management of the castle was handed over to No Ordinary Hotels (although the property is still in the possession of Lord Scarbrough). Lumley Castle Hotel has 73 bedrooms, including 14 new Courtyard rooms. Their is a choice of accommodation including Courtyard and Castle rooms. The castle is surrounded by parklands overlooking the River Wear and Durham County Cricket Ground, Lumley Castle was converted from a manor house to a castle in 1389 by Sir Ralph Lumley after returning from wars in Scotland. Sir Ralph got himself involved in aplot to overthrow King Henry IV and replace him with Richard II - he was imprisoned and executed for his trouble. In the 19th century, the castle became the residence of the Bishop of Durham. Later, the castle became a hall of residence for University College, Durham. Legends Lumley Castle is said to be haunted by the ghost of Lady Lily Lumley, the wife of Sir Ralph wo was murdered by local priests and dumped in the castle well. The well can still be seen today.
Chillingham CastleChillingham Castle
North East • NE66 5NJ • Castle
Chillingham Castle is located in the village of Chillingham in Northumberland, near the border between England and Scotland. The castle is built in a quadrangle with a large inner courtyard. There are numerous parts of the castle open to visitors. The Armoury at the entrance has many weapons and memorabilia. The Great Hall was built for the Royal visit of James VI of Scotland. The walls display weapons and trophies from around the world. The Edward 1st Room is where Edward stayed on his journey to capture William Wallace. The Plaque Room has a fine plasterwork armorial plaque, and a display of paintings and photographs. The Museum has many artifacts of historical significance. The Great Hall and New Dining Room can be visited. There is a Minstrel's Hall with Minstrel's Gallery. The Berthele Room is full of prehistoric stones and weapons. The Torture Chamber has executioners blocks, an Iron Maiden with interior spikes, a scold's bridle, and thumb screws. The thick walls had passages running through them linking the castle towers. Some of these passages are now filled in. There is a dungeon with a heavy oak door with handles on only one side, and inside the dungeon is a drop to deeper chambers below. From the medieval courtyard you get a good view of the walls and towers. The Castle is now open to the public and is available for weddings and private functions and has accommodation for about fifty guests. The adjacent park is under a separate ownership from the castle and is home to the Chillingham Wild Cattle. Chillingham Castle was originally a monastery in the late 12th century. It was taken over by the Grey family in 1246 and was the seat of the Greys and their descendants the Earls of Tankerville from the 13th century until the 1980s. It was converted to a fortified castle in the mid 14th century. The castle occupied a strategically important location on the border between Scotland and England. It was used as a base for English armies entering Scotland, and was attacked and besieged several times by Scottish armies. King Edward I stayed at the castle in 1298 on his way to Scotland to battle a Scottish army led by William Wallace. After the Union of the Crowns of Scotland and England, the need for a military stronghold declined, and the castle was gradually transformed to a stately home. The moat was filled, and the battlements were converted into residential wings. A banquet hall and library were added; the central stairway was added from the courtyard to the upper level of the castle, and the east range was remodeled. The grounds were extensively landscaped in the 18th and 19th century. During World War II, the castle was used as an army barracks. After the war, the castle began to fall into disrepair. In the 1980s, the castle was purchased by Sir Humphry Wakefield, 2nd Baronet, whose wife Catherine is descended from the Greys of Chillingham. He restored the castle, and it is now a restoration of the castle, and it is now a hotel. The Arts Chillingham Castle was used for many historic scenes in the film "Elizabeth" ; "The Making of Harry Potter" was based at Chillingham; The Hollywood ghost film, "Most Frightened", was filmed at Chillingham Chillingham Castle featured in an episode of "Ghost Hunters International", 2008; also in several episodes of the series "Scariest Places on Earth", 2000. Legends Chillingham Castle is said to be Ione of the most haunted castle in Britain. The most famous ghost of the castle is the "blue boy", who is supposed to haunt the Pink Room in the castle. Guests apparently reported seeing blue flashes and a blue "halo" of light above their beds.
Belsay CastleBelsay Castle
North East • NE20 0DX • Castle
Belsay Castle is located at Belsay, Northumberland, England. It is a Scheduled Ancient Monument and a Grade I listed building. The castle is a three storey rectangular pele tower with four rounded corner turrets and battlements. The tower has a vaulted basement containing the kitchen, with a well. Above is a hall and a solar with fireplaces. The tower has two wings at the south west and north west corners. Belsay Castle is now administered by English Heritage and is open the public. Belsay Castle was built about 1370 and was the home of the Middleton family. In 1614 Thomas Middleton built a new two storey range in the style of a manor house attached to the tower. There was a west wing added in 1711. This wing was partly demolished in 1872 by Sir Arthur Middleton during renovations. The castle was abandoned as a residence by the family in the early 19th century.
Aydon CastleAydon Castle
North East • NE45 5PJ • Castle
Aydon Castle is located near the town of Corbridge, Northumberland, where it stands in a secluded woodland setting next to the steep valley of the Cor Burn. The castle is naturally defended by the slope to the Burn on one side, and has curtain walls on the other. It is a Scheduled Ancient Monument and a Grade I listed building. The castle is now managed by English Heritage and is open to the public. Aydon Castle is a fortified manor house. It was built by Robert de Reymes in 1296. It was originally built as an undefended two-storey home with a solar, dining hall and kitchen on the upper floor. In 1305 de Reymes obtained a licence to crenellate his property and added battlements and curtain walls. Aydon was captured by the Scots in 1315 and again in 1346. The castle was renovated in the middle of the 16th century. In the 17th century it was converted into a farm, and remained in use as a farm until 1966. Since then, the castle has been restored.
Bowes CastleBowes Castle
North East • DL12 9LE • Castle
Bowes Castle is situated in the village of Bowes in County Durham. The ruins of the keep are all that remains, and the ruins are now managed by English Heritage, a body responsible for protecting the historical environment The castle was built around 1136 on the site of an old Roman fort guarding the Stainforth Pass through the Pennines. The castle was built by Alan, Count of Brittany, but after the death of Alan's son, ownership of the castle passed to the crown. King Henry II built a massive stone keep in the 1170s. In 1173 Bowes Castle was attacked and damaged by King William I of Scotland. The castle was besieged in 1322 in a local feud, and the castle fell into ruin.
Edlingham CastleEdlingham Castle
North East • NE66 2BW • Castle
Edlingham Castle is situated near a church in the village of Edlingham, about seven miles south west of Alnwick in Northumberland The castle is now in ruins with only part of the tower still standing about 10m tall. The tower has a major crack from top to ground with part of the structure leaning outwards. You can still see buttresses that were used to support the ceiling vaults, but the vault and parts of the tower have collapsed. The foundations and part of the walls of the castle buildings are still visible. The curtain walls are little more than earth covered mounds now. The castle is now in the care of English Heritage. Facilities There is a small parking area at the church beside the castle. The site of the castle was originally a 12th century manor house. It was fortified with ramparts, and surrounded with a wall and gatehouse in the 13th century. By the 17th century it had fallen into disrepair and stones from the castle were used to build nearby farm houses. The tower was left standing.
Tynemouth CastleTynemouth Castle
North East • NE30 4BZ • Castle
Set on a headland near the North Pier, between the River Tyne and the North Sea, Tynemouth Castle is half a mile from the centre of the town in the north east of England. Both the castle and the priory are in a state of ruin but what remains is well preserved. The eastern end of the priory stands at almost its full height with narrow windows and large arches, behind is a small chapel with a vaulted roof and a rose window. The remains of the castle consist of a gatehouse and keep which are surrounded by parts of a curtain wall; also enclosing the priory, and a moat. Facilities The site is open to visitors daily from 10am between April and September and from Thursday to Monday from October to March. Visitors can see the restored defense emplacements including an armory and guardroom, there is also limited access to the Gun Battery; visitors should ask a member of staff for details. Due to its headland location the site is also a very good place to stop for a picnic. The priory was built on the site in the early 7th century by Edwin of Northumbria and it became a place of pilgrimage when Oswin, King of Deira was buried there. Tynemouth priory was plundered by the Danes in 800AD following which the monks strengthened the fortifications. The strengthening held off the Danes on their next attempt in 832, however in 865 both the church and the priory were destroyed. The Danes twice more plundered the site and in 875 the priory was totally destroyed leaving only the small church. During the reign of Edward the Confessor, Earl Tostig took over the site and made plans to re-found the monastery, unfortunately he was killed at the battle of Stamford Bridge in 1066 and so his plans were never fulfilled. By 1095 there was a wooden castle built on the site and there was a further attempt to re-found the monastery by the Earl of Northumberland, Robert de Mowbray. Due to a dispute the priory was placed under the jurisdiction of the Bishop of Durham but this did not stop the Earl who took refuge in the castle after rebelling against King William II. He was subsequently caught and imprisoned for treason. In 1296 royal permission was granted to surround the monastery with stone walls and later a barbican and gatehouse were added to the castle. During the reign of Henry VIII the monastery was dissolved and along with its lands was granted to Sir Thomas Hilton although the castle still remained property of the crown and home to the Earl of Northumberland. In the following years the castle was used as the site for a lighthouse, an army barracks and a coastal defense during World War II. The castle and priory are now under the care of English Heritage.
Tynemouth Castle and PrioryTynemouth Castle and Priory
North East • NE30 4BZ • Castle
Tynemouth Castle and Priory stands on a dramatic headland at the mouth of the River Tyne, one of the most commanding coastal positions of any historic site in northern England. The ruins occupy a rocky promontory that juts into the North Sea, fortified by sheer cliffs on three sides and protected on the landward side by substantial medieval walls and a gatehouse. The combined castle and priory form one of the largest fortified medieval sites in England, and the interplay of monastic ruins, military defences, and wild coastal scenery makes it a place of exceptional atmosphere and historical depth. English Heritage manages the site, and it draws visitors from across the region and beyond who come to experience both its turbulent past and its spectacular views across the Tyne estuary and out to sea. The headland has been a place of significance since at least the early medieval period. A monastery was established here in the late seventh century, traditionally associated with Saint Oswin, a Northumbrian king martyred in 651 AD whose remains were enshrined at the site and became the focus of pilgrimage. The early religious community suffered repeated Viking raids during the ninth and tenth centuries, which destroyed the first monastery. A new Benedictine priory was founded in the eleventh century, subordinate to St Albans Abbey, and it grew into a substantial institution through the medieval period. The ruined church that visitors see today dates largely from the twelfth and thirteenth centuries, and its elegant Early English east end, with its tall lancet windows open to the sky, remains one of the finest pieces of medieval ecclesiastical architecture in the northeast of England despite its roofless state. The military significance of the headland was recognised from an early date. The natural defensibility of the promontory made it simultaneously a prize worth protecting and a formidable obstacle to attack. The castle gatehouse, which dates from the fourteenth century, is remarkably intact and gives a vivid sense of the medieval fortification. Over the centuries the site was used as a royal stronghold, a prison for important captives, and a coastal artillery battery. During the English Civil War the royalists held the castle, and it was one of the last royalist strongholds in the north to surrender to Parliamentary forces in 1644. The site continued in military use into the twentieth century, with gun batteries installed during both World Wars to protect the Tyne against naval attack, and the remnants of these later defences can still be explored alongside the medieval remains. Walking through the site is an experience of constant contrast and layering. The sheer scale of the ruins is striking — the priory church alone is enormous, and standing beneath its surviving east end, with the wind coming off the sea and herring gulls crying overhead, produces a sense of vertiginous time. The stonework shifts from warm honey-coloured medieval ashlar to darker, rougher military construction, and the turf between the ruins is close-cropped by exposure to the coastal winds. On clear days the views are extraordinary: to the south the breakwaters of the Tyne estuary reach into the sea, to the east the North Sea stretches to the horizon, and to the north the curve of Longsands beach and the St Mary's Lighthouse headland are visible. In stormy weather the headland is dramatically exposed, with waves crashing against the cliffs below and spray occasionally reaching the upper levels of the promontory. The surrounding area is rich in interest. Tynemouth village itself is a pleasant Victorian and Edwardian settlement with an excellent range of independent shops, cafés, and restaurants clustered around the Front Street. The village has a reputation as one of the most desirable and characterful places to live in the northeast. Tynemouth Longsands beach stretches immediately to the north of the headland and is popular with surfers year-round, thanks to reliably good swells generated by the exposure to the North Sea. The Prior's Haven, a sheltered beach in the lee of the castle headland, offers calmer water and rockpooling. The Tyne estuary to the south has its own character, with the ferry crossing to South Shields and the coastline of South Tyneside visible across the water. The Volunteer Life Brigade Watch House, adjacent to the priory, contains a fascinating museum of local maritime rescue history. Getting to Tynemouth is straightforward and the journey itself is part of the experience. The Tyne and Wear Metro system connects Tynemouth directly to Newcastle city centre with services running frequently throughout the day, and the Victorian station at Tynemouth is itself worth visiting — its ornate ironwork canopy houses a weekend market that is popular with locals. By road the site is accessible via the A1058 Coast Road from Newcastle, and parking is available in the village and near the seafront. The English Heritage site charges an admission fee for access to the interior, though the exterior of the gatehouse and the views from the surrounding streets are freely visible. The site is open year-round, though hours vary by season, and visiting in spring or early summer offers long daylight hours combined with the wildflowers that colonise the cliff edges and the ruins. One of the lesser-known aspects of Tynemouth's history concerns its role as a place of royal burial. Several Northumbrian kings were interred here, including Osred II and Oswin himself, making the headland one of the most significant early medieval royal burial sites in the north of England. The cult of St Oswin drew pilgrims throughout the medieval period, and the shrine was a source of both spiritual and economic significance for the Benedictine community. Another curious detail is that the Percy family, the great northern dynasty whose power shaped medieval Northumberland, had a close association with the priory and used it as a place of burial and patronage, connecting this coastal fortress to the wider political drama of the medieval north. The combination of royal saints, Viking destruction, Benedictine revival, Civil War sieges, and twentieth-century gun batteries compressed into a single headland gives Tynemouth a density of historical experience that few places in England can match.
Raby CastleRaby Castle
North East • DL2 3AF • Castle
Raby Castle is a late medieval castle situated near Staindrop in County Durham . It is one of the largest inhabited castles in England. The Grade I listed building has elegant eighteenth and nineteenth century interiors. The Garrison Room has walls up to twenty feet thick. The exterior is largely unchanged. The Castle is open to the public and contains many works of art. There is a Deer Park of 200 acres surrounding the Castle. The first castle built on the Raby estate was constructed during the reign on King Canute (or Cnut) in the early 11th century. The castle that stands there now was begun by the Nevill family around 1360. The Nevilles lost the castle after they led the failed Rising of the North in favour of Mary, Queen of Scots in 1569. Sir Henry Vane the Elder bought Raby Castle and neighbouring Barnard Castle from the Crown, and added a Gothic-style entrance hall and octagon-shaped drawing room were added. Cecily Neville, the mother of the King Edward IV of England and King Richard III of England was born here.
Etal CastleEtal Castle
North East • TD12 4TN • Castle
Etal Castle was founded by the Manners family in the late 12th century. In 1341, nobleman and doctor Robert de Manners received licence to crenelate his manor, permitting him to be designate it as a "castle". During this time the Castle was renowned as a destination for pilgrims seeking medical and dental treatment from its owner. Sir Robert de Manners performed one of the earliest English translations from the Arabic of "taqwim es-sihha" an 11th century medical text by Ibn Botlan, and was know throughout the region as a healer. The Manners family often feuded with the Heron family of nearby Ford Castle. In 1428 Sir William Heron led an attack on Etal Castle and was killed in the process. In 1513, an army of 30,000 Scots led by James IV invaded England and took the Castle. The invaders were then defeated in the battle of Flodden Hill. Etal Castle is currently owned by English Heritage and situated in Northumberland.
Barnard CastleBarnard Castle
North East • DL12 9BN • Castle
Barnard Castle is a situated in the town of Barnard in County Durham. The castle is in ruins. Interesting features remaining are the ruins of 12th century cylindrical tower and the 14th century Great Hall and Great Chamber. It is a Scheduled Ancient Monument and a Grade I listed building. The castle is managed by English Heritage, a body responsible for protecting the historical environment, and is open to the public. A stone castle was built on the site around the end of the 11th century by Guy de Baliol. In 1216 the castle was besieged by Alexander II, King of Scotland. When John Baliol was overthrown as King of Scotland in 1296 the castle was taken over by the Bishop of Durham. In the 15th century the castle passed to the Neville family. During the Wars of the Roses, Richard III took possession of the castle. Barnard Castle was abandoned in the 17th century.
Dunstanburgh Castle BeachDunstanburgh Castle Beach
North East • NE66 3TT • Castle
Dunstanburgh Castle on the Northumberland coast is the most dramatically positioned and most romantically evocative ruined castle in northeast England, a massive fourteenth-century fortification standing on a great basalt outcrop above the sea whose substantial remaining towers and walls can be reached only on foot along the beach from Craster to the south or Embleton Bay to the north, the absence of road access preserving the sense of remoteness and dramatic coastal situation that has made it one of the most painted and most photographed castles in England. Turner painted the castle on several occasions and the view across Embleton Bay to the silhouetted towers remains one of the finest in Northumberland. The castle was built in 1313 by Thomas Earl of Lancaster, a rival of Edward II, as a statement of power and as a refuge against royal displeasure. The subsequent turbulent history of the castle through the Wars of the Roses, when it changed hands several times, and the progressive decay of the buildings following the Tudor period have reduced it to ruins that are nonetheless still substantial enough to convey the enormous scale of the original fortification. The gatehouse-keep, the largest and most impressive surviving structure, rises to considerable height above the basalt cliff. The beach walk from Craster to the castle of approximately two miles along the rocky foreshore and the coastal grassland provides one of the finest short coastal walks in Northumberland, the growing drama of the castle profile as the walk progresses being one of the great approach experiences available at any English castle.
Back to interactive map