Showing up to 15 places from this collection.
Amhuinnsuidhe CastleWestern Isles • HS3 3AS • Historic Places
Ammhuinsuihde Castle is located on the Isle of Harris in north-western Scotland and overlooks the sea.
The castle is fully in tact, and somewhat resembles a country house, with three storeys, sharply angled roofs and many rectangular windows. It has many chimneys and a circular tower. It has vast views of the sea from many of its towers. The grounds span 55, 000 acres and include lochs, glens and beaches.
Facilities
Ammhuinsuihde is available for use for wedding ceremonies, accommodation and shooting. It has several lavishly decorated suites, and is fully catered by castle staff.
The owners of the Isle of Harris originally built Ardvourlie Castle on the Ammhuinsuihde estate in 1863 as to serve as a hunting lodge, in addition to their home. However In 1867, Fincastle was built on the same estate because the owner, Charles the 7th of Dunmore, did not think Ardvourlie suitable for his sporting although the family never lived in the castle. Fincastle's name was eventually changed to Ammhuinsuihde, which means 'sitting by the river'. An extra wing was added later, which contributed to the Dunmores' bankruptcy that forced them off the estate. Sir Edward Scott took over the still-unfinished castle in 1869. The castle was then sold to Lord Leverhulme in 1919, and bought back by Scott in 1925 upon Leverhulme's death. Ammhuinsuihde changed hands several more times between 1925 and 2003, and it is now owned by Ian Scarr-Hall who runs the castle as a venue for weddings, shooting and accommodation.
Amhuinsuidhe Castle near to Amhainn Suidhe, Na h-Eileanan an Iar. The house was built in 1865 for the then owner of the Isle of Harris, the 7th Earl of Dunmore.
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle dates from 1868
Armadale CastleWestern Isles • IV45 8RS • Historic Places
Armadale Castle is a ruined country house in Armadale, Isle of Skye. The building was built as a baronial style mock-castle in 1815, and was abandoned in 1925 and has since fallen into ruin. The estate was purchased by the Clan Donald Lands Trust in 1971.The Trust has restored the gardens and part of the Castle, created a museum and built holiday accommodation and established a visitor centre.
The original building was a mansion house built in 1790 by the first Lord Macdonald. Part of this original mansion can still be seen as the white section of the building in the photos. In 1815 the building was extended to form Armadale Castle. In 1855 fire destroyed much of the original house. In 1925 the Macdonald family moved to a smaller house a few miles away, leaving the castle to fall into disrepair.
Caisteal MaolWestern Isles • NG7 2NE • Historic Places
Caisteal Maol is a ruined castle located near the harbour of the village of Kyleakin on the Isle of Skye. It is also known as Castle Moil.
Caisteal Maol is believed to originate from the 10th Century. The present building dates from around the 14th or 15th century and was abandoned by the MacKinnons in the mid 17th Century. The castle is now nearly completely ruined. In 1949 and 1989 parts of the ruins broke away in storms. The remaining ruins have been secured to prevent further deterioration
Legends
It is believed that one of the early MacKinnon chiefs married a Norwegian princess around 900 and established the original castle. Tradition records that this couple levied a toll on boats passing through the channel between Skye and the mainland, by stretching a chain across the strait as a stop barrier.
Dunscaith CastleWestern Isles • IV44 8QL • Historic Places
Dunscaith Castle is situated on the Sleat Peninsula on the Isle of Skye in the north of Scotland. The castle is built on an off-shore rock rising 40 feet above sea level. There is a gap of 20 feet between the rock and the mainland. The gap was once spanned by a walled bridge that led to a drawbridge. On the other side of the drawbridge, a door opened to a flight of stairs which was also sided by two walls. The flight of stairs led up to the castle. Parts of the castle curtain wall still survive on the cliff edge but most of the inner buildings have gone. The curtain wall was about 5 ft thick. In the courtyard is a well and the remains of a stairway which once led up a tower.
Originally the castle belonged to the Clan MacDonald of Sleat . During the 14th century it was taken from them by the Clan MacLeod but was recaptured by the MacDonalds in the 15th century. In the 15th century the castle was captured by King James I of Scotland, although the MacDonalds were allowed to keep possession of the castle. The MacDonalds abandoned the castle in the early 17th century.
Dunvegan CastleWestern Isles • IV55 8WF • Historic Places
Dunvegan Castle is located at Dunvegan on the Isle of Skye, off the west coast of Scotland. It is the seat of the chief of the Clan MacLeod for nearly 800 years. The castle was first opened to the public in 1933 and is one of Scotland's most popular castles. The castle has a number of important clan relics including the Fairie Flag of Dunvegan and the Dunvegan Cup. The Fairy Flag of Dunvegan is made of silk from the Middle East, and has been dated to between the 4th and 7th centuries. Visitors to the castle can experience tours of the castle, estate, take boat trips on Loch Dunvegan to see the seal colony. Dunvegan Castle may b hired for weddings. Self-catering accommodation is available on the estate. There are four shops on the site.
Parts of the castle are thought to date from the ninth century. Building has been carried out in almost every century since the 1200s when the MacLeods moved in. Sir Walter Scott, Dr Johnson, Queen Elizabeth II and the Japanese Emperor Akihito have visited Dunvegan Castle.
Kisimul CastleWestern Isles • HS9 5UZ • Historic Places
Kisimul Castle can be reached by taking a small boat from Castlebay (five minute trip, weather permitting). It is recommended visiting with a helper due to the boat crossing, difficult terrain and various levels within the castle.
Kisimul Castle is a small medieval castle located in the centre of Castlebay on the island of Barra in the Outer Hebrides, Scotland. It is known locally as the "Castle in the Sea". Kisimul Castle is the only significant surviving medieval castle in the Western Isles. Construction of Kisimul Castle was started by Niall of Barra around 1039, making it one of the oldest castles in Scotland. Since that time, Kisimul has been the stronghold of Clan MacNeil. It is built on a rocky outcrop in the bay, completely surrounded by water. Many of the buildings within the curtain wall are still standing. The castle is open to the public every day from April to September. Much of the interior of the castle is accessible, although some of the rooms are still used by the MacNeil family. There are magnificent views of Castlebay from the walkway around the curtain wall.
The earliest structures standing today probably date from the early 15th century. The original design was a three story tower house surrounded by a curtain wall. Inside the wall a number of other structures were built, including the hall that still stands, and the chapel. In the late 15th century or early 16th century a range was built adjoining the tower house, and the curtain wall was raised. By the mid 18th century the castle was abandoned, and some time later was gutted by fire. In 1838 the MacNeils became bankrupt and were forced to sell Barra to Colonel Gordon of Cluny. In 1937 the American architect Robert MacNeil purchased most of the Barra estate including Kisimul Castle. He started restoring the castle, and restoration was completed in 1970. In 2001 the castle was leased by the chief of Clan MacNeil to Historic Scotland.
Kisimul Castle
Caisteil Chiosmuil (Kisimul Castle). The castle in the bay at Castlebay (Bàgh a' Chaisteil). The seat of the Macneils of Barra.
Knock CastleWestern Isles • KA30 8SE • Historic Places
Knock Castle is situated on the east coast of Sleat, approximately 5 miles north of Armadale on the Isle of Skye. The castle is also known as Caisteal Chamuis (Castle Camus). Today the castle is in ruins. All that remains is an old 15th century keep with traces of later buildings.
The castle was constructed in the 15th century by the Clan MacLeod. It was later captured by the Clan MacDonald in the late 15th century. Ownership of the castle passed between the two clans several times. It was rebuilt in 1596 by the MacDonalds. By 1689 the castle was abandoned and fell intop disrpair. Most of the stones were then used for nearby buildings.
Legends
It is said that the castle is haunted by a Green Lady - a ghost associated with the fortunes of the family who occupy the castle.
Lews CastleWestern Isles • HS2 0XR • Historic Places
Lews Castle is a Victorian castle situated west of Stornoway on the Isle of Lewis, Scotland. Today the building is owned by the local council, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar and is category A listed building. Comhairle nan Eilean and its partners propose to regenerate the vacant building through a mixed development comprising a museum and a hotel with function rooms. The castle is used as the main venue of the annual Hebridean Celtic Festival, a 4-day international music event held in July. The castle itself is not open to the public, but visitors can walk around the extensive grounds. The Woodland Centre houses exhibitions, a tea room, gift shop and toilets.
Lews Castle was built between 1847 and 1857 as a country house for Sir James Matheson who bought the island in 1844. In 1918, the Lewis estate including the castle was bought by Lord Leverhulme from the Matheson family. He gifted the castle to the people of Stornoway parish in 1923.During World War II the Castle was used as accommodation for the 700 Naval Air Squadron, who operated a detachment of six Supermarine Walrus aircraft from the castle grounds. From the early 1950s until 1989 the Castle served as a Technical College and school - Lews Castle College.
Lews Castle, Stornoway
Stornoway, Lews Castle
Ormacleit CastleWestern Isles • HS8 5SA • Historic Places
Ormacleit Castle (also spelled Ormiclate or Ormaclett) is located on South Uist in the Western Isles of Scotland. The building is a ruined mansion house rather than a defensive structure. It was a T-plan, two-storey house which faced north onto a courtyard. The ruin is a Scheduled Monument and a category B listed building. The castle is on privately property, the ruins are unstable and not open to visitors.
Ormacleit Castle was built in the early 18th century by Allan Macdonald, chief of Clanranald, and was completed in 1708. Macdonald was killed at the Battle of Sheriffmuir in November 1715, and Ormacleit Castle burned down on the eve of that battle. After the fire, the Clanranald seat moved to Nunton on Benbecula, and Ormacleit was abandoned. That must make Ormacleit Castle one of the shortest lived castles in Scotland. The first structure at Ormacleit was built in the 16th century by Macdonald, 9th chief of Clanranald. Parts of this building may be incorporated into the present house.
Ormacleit Castle